Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
instead of making sandwiches, i just frosted each individual cookie. more to share this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Visually attractive & extremely rich cookie. Great for visual impact, but you need a large crowd who will eat them quickly since the icing needs to be refrigerated ... and most folks can only eat one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These sandwich cookies are fantastic! Not only do they taste great, they are very attractive and make a great presentation. I've given them as gifts in clear cellophane bags, tied with ribbon. If you're in a hurry, substitute store bought cream cheese icing for the homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum-Yum-Yum!! These were so easy! I made them for my father in law for Christmas and they were a hit! I did not use this icing recipe. I used a very old "mystery icing" recipe from the 60's that belonged to his mother. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These cookies were such a hit this Christmas! I made exactly as written, except used Vanilla extract instead of liquor. I made half with no coconut or nuts and half with all. They are so rich a delicious, you can only have 1. Plus, the recipe states to make the cookies into walnut sized balls. When I did that I did not get the right amount of cookies. I cut it down to about chestnut size balls and it came out right. However, they really could have been even smaller. The cookies came out about 2 1/2 to 3 inches wide, which is pretty big for a rich cookie. These are definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These cookies were good, just a little oily. The recipe for the frosting really did make too much so I only made half and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
The texture of these cookies is great! Follow the cooking instructions exactly and you will have a great cookie. The end result is pretty good. I would try these first before you debut them. They tasted good at first but when I revisted them a few hours later, they were missing something. I honestly think it is the red velvet box mix that needs help, it's bitter compared to other red velvets. I used this concept with a lemon supreme cake mix with homemade white chocolate icing and it was a far superior cookie. I might try spice cake mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casablancaise
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These cookies are pretty good. I had to pass on the coconut and pecans because the cookies were to take to my daughter's preschool and not nuts were allowed in the food. This recipe was easy to make but the amount of icing here is away too much, I had half of it left at the end. I would suggest to cut the icing ingredients in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These were excellent! I took a chance on these for a cookie exchange party, and I was happy I did! I left out the bourbon, coconut and pecans, and they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was a little more work than most. I didn't get any comments on it. Thought the cookie cakes were a little dry. Maybe not bake as long as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanette00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States