Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I'm a pretty easy sell on most things. With food, I'm certainly not picky. But there was something about the taste of these cookies that was kinda meh to me. I cut down the oil to 1/3 c. and made the frosting for this recipe and I definitely wasn't crazy about it. I then made the cream cheese frosting from McCormick's Red Velvet Cupcakes recipe on this site which incorporates sour cream and that DEFINITELY amped it up a notch -- really nice tang at the end and sooo much tastier. After I finish off this batch I probably won't make again. **UPDATE** I am upgrading to a 5 after bringing these to a get together last night -- the icing for the Red Velvet Cupcake recipe definitely was a hit, and instead of sandwiching the cookies to make whoopie pies, I just put a thick layer of icing on top of a single cookie and it was delicious! Perhaps there was too much cookie for the icing to balance out the taste. This was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by focaccia9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made these for my Christmas cookie exchange and they were a big hit! I omitted the coconut because not everyone likes it. I drizzled them with white chocolate and they looked really cool. I did find that it was easier to roll in the pecans after I chopped them in the food processor. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Easy was just what I needed and my son actually enjoyed assembeling these yummy sandwiches. They really added a lot of color to the cookie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
WOW!!!!!!!!! Thank you for this crazy easy keeper of a recipe. Threw together in about 5 minutes. Baked on parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delicious, simple, easy to make small adjustments (i.e., swap vanilla in place of bourbon). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Warning: these are so addicting! One of the easiest and quickest recipes. I omitted the bourbon and used store bought frosting. They were delicious as a stand alone cookie or a sandwich. Probably could have used a tiny bit less oil than what was called for. I do have to say that these were only enjoyable the first day of baking. They took on a different flavor after that which I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe was 1. easy and 2. incredible! One of my favorite cookies ever! I must say my version lacks a lot of the things in the original: bourban, coconut and pecans... but I used chocolate chips and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
my friend made these for me and i loved them! my brother ate three at least
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This was good. I used store bought cream cheese frosting, thinned with some Carnation. I added some milk to the cookie batter, which was a mistake since they came out flat. My bad! But this was quick to make and I will try these with different cake mixes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMeier627
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
People were AMAZED at these cookies. I made them a little bigger and sandwhiched them and out green sprinkles on the icing. It was for a Christmas party so they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMeier627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States