Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I can't believe I am the only one who thinks they were way too sweet.I even used 1/2 cup less sugar.I should have followed my instincts.They were pretty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TeamSeabron
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Delicious. As much as I hate it when people change everything and review anyway, I'm going to do it. I used chocolate cake mix with a dash of vanilla and made the icing as is-with food coloring, but without the coconut. They were fantastic and team colored for the Superbowl, my team lost, but the cookies were a huge hit-I'm so excited to try them with different mixes-and I think I've got a new go-to cream cheese icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
The cookies came out beautifully. However, the cream filling was tooooo soft. It needs to be stiffer. I haven't used Crisco hard shortening, that's what this filling needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are delicious and beautiful! I left out the bourbon in the mix. I measured my dough with a 1/2 tbsp to make each cookie uniform in size. The cooking time was perfect at 8 minutes for my oven. I did not add evaporated milk, coconut or nuts to the icing. These need to be refrigerated. They taste better if you let them get to room temperature before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
giving 5 stars cuz so yummy! but just a recommendation...cook a min longer so middles not so mushy:) great recipe! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA MADISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I'm a pretty easy sell on most things. With food, I'm certainly not picky. But there was something about the taste of these cookies that was kinda meh to me. I cut down the oil to 1/3 c. and made the frosting for this recipe and I definitely wasn't crazy about it. I then made the cream cheese frosting from McCormick's Red Velvet Cupcakes recipe on this site which incorporates sour cream and that DEFINITELY amped it up a notch -- really nice tang at the end and sooo much tastier. After I finish off this batch I probably won't make again. **UPDATE** I am upgrading to a 5 after bringing these to a get together last night -- the icing for the Red Velvet Cupcake recipe definitely was a hit, and instead of sandwiching the cookies to make whoopie pies, I just put a thick layer of icing on top of a single cookie and it was delicious! Perhaps there was too much cookie for the icing to balance out the taste. This was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by focaccia9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made these for my Christmas cookie exchange and they were a big hit! I omitted the coconut because not everyone likes it. I drizzled them with white chocolate and they looked really cool. I did find that it was easier to roll in the pecans after I chopped them in the food processor. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Easy was just what I needed and my son actually enjoyed assembeling these yummy sandwiches. They really added a lot of color to the cookie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
WOW!!!!!!!!! Thank you for this crazy easy keeper of a recipe. Threw together in about 5 minutes. Baked on parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Delicious, simple, easy to make small adjustments (i.e., swap vanilla in place of bourbon). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States