Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Everything about this was easy! We didn't have bourbon so I also sub'd with vanilla. I also skipped the icing cuz i never liked those "double doozie" you got at the mall. Lol All the boys loved them and they are the chosen cookie of the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
These are amazing! I made a variation using chocolate fudge cake mix and canned buttercream that I added some mini chocolate chips too. So incredibly easy and extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Just made these cookies with my 5yo son... They were fantastic! We came up with tons of ideas to use these cookies for Christmas. On the first batch we did the plain sandwich with frosting in the middle, but thought during the holidays we could roll the frosting in green sprinkles to make them festive! We also put andes candies pieces in with the frosting for a mint-y cookie- those were my son's favorite! Then on the last batch we mixed in white chocolate chips and will leave them as cookies alone. The possibilities are endless! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
The amount of oil seemed too high so I cut it down to 1/4 cup and then slowly added some water until the batter was the right texture. If you want puffy cookies you have to spoon smaller batter drops; the bigger the cookie the flatter it gets. Taste great and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I really enjoyed these. Very Simple. I made them for my neighbor whose father passed away last night. He loves red velvet. Very impressed. I kept the pecans out just because I wasn't sure if he ate nuts or not. I would love to try this with chocolate cookies and maybe some mini chocolate chips in the cream cheese mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Really liked these. Second time I used a devils food cake mix and made peanutbutter cream frosting...WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crick
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Very good cookies! I left out the coconut and they were just as delicious. Make sure you don't over cook the cookies a little softer is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Easy and delicious recipe! I used my own cream cheese frosting just because I had all the ingredients on hand (and I didn't have the coconut or evap milk for THIS recipe) and the kids gobbled them up...the adults liked them as well. I made NO changes to the cake/cookie recipe part at all. I'll be trying this recipe in other flavors, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Delicious! But next time I want to make them bigger, like a tablespoon size or bigger. Because they weren't big and puffy, just flat like a cookie. I used cream cheese frosting recipe from this website instead of the one on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
PURE AWESOMENESS!!! Great for any occasion or just for a little treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States