Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Easy and good recipe. I used vanilla chips instead of the frosting, because I wanted a cookie that didn't need to be refridgerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made this with my 4 yr old grandson and 2 yr old grandaughter....didn't they have fun...and they just had to lick their little fingers:) Oh, well, all in the family. Didn't have any bourbon, but these were great. My son-in-law said they were the best cookies he ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I am making these for a cookie swap this weekend instead of the filling listed i am making my own cream cheese frosting I may crush up some candy canes to toss in and a few drops of green food coloring if i am feeling crazy. I also left out the bourbon BUT I added about 2 teaspoons of peppermint extract instead...they smell amazing and are very festive cant wait to try one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
These cookies are pretty but are too sweet and lose all the good flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by something new

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
chewy and delicious. I made them exactly as described and had my daughter help with the balling and the sandwiching. pretty easy and scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
These were so easy to make, and so delicious to eat. My daughter took most of these to an early holiday party, and she reported that everyone loved them and that I should have made more. Because I was making these for kids, I omitted the coconut and pecans. These would work with just about any cake mix, and I think lemon with a lemon cream filling or spice cake with a cream cheese filling would be wonderful. But the red velvet is perfect for the holiday season! Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Everything about this was easy! We didn't have bourbon so I also sub'd with vanilla. I also skipped the icing cuz i never liked those "double doozie" you got at the mall. Lol All the boys loved them and they are the chosen cookie of the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
These are amazing! I made a variation using chocolate fudge cake mix and canned buttercream that I added some mini chocolate chips too. So incredibly easy and extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Just made these cookies with my 5yo son... They were fantastic! We came up with tons of ideas to use these cookies for Christmas. On the first batch we did the plain sandwich with frosting in the middle, but thought during the holidays we could roll the frosting in green sprinkles to make them festive! We also put andes candies pieces in with the frosting for a mint-y cookie- those were my son's favorite! Then on the last batch we mixed in white chocolate chips and will leave them as cookies alone. The possibilities are endless! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
The amount of oil seemed too high so I cut it down to 1/4 cup and then slowly added some water until the batter was the right texture. If you want puffy cookies you have to spoon smaller batter drops; the bigger the cookie the flatter it gets. Taste great and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States