Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made these for valentine's day - so so good! I made them plain..left out the burbon, coconut, and pecans..and they still got great. The cake mix makes it really easy. One tip is to take them out of the oven after they have just begun to crack (8 mins) just like the recipe says. I was a little hesitant with the first tray because they looked like they weren't nearly done so I left them in a few minutes longer and they ended up burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbparisi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megancalderon
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made these cookies for Valentine's Day for my hubby's work, they came out absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made these for my boyfriend for Valentine's day! Just finished making them. I made a few alterations though, couldn't find any red velvet cake mix so I used Devil's food cake mix instead. Used Vanilla instead of bourbon as I saw some people have done. The cookies are very soft and cake like! Quite tasty. The Icing is a little bit on the soft side but still pretty tasty and sweet. I like that they mimic oreos cuz my boyfriend loves oreos! I dropped some heart-shaped flakes on the cookies before putting them in the oven to make them more valentine's day ish. Anyways I am very happy with this recipe they are quite a delicious treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Made these cookies yesterday, they were fabulous!! I substituted regular milk for the evaporated milk and still came out great. I really recommend this recipe even for pickiest of eaters!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tonopah, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These are great! I left out the bourbon and baked them in mini muffin pans for bite-size superbowl treats! Topped them with cream cheese icing (looked like mini cupcakes)! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Agreed 1inch balls were too big, my cookies were flat and when finished way too sweet,don't think I'd make these again, I'll just have to keep looking for another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Absloutely yumm-o! One of my favorite cookies that I baked for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
All I can say is....WOW!! These are my new favorite cookie!!! So easy to make, and soooo delicious! Made them for a cookie exchange, and for every holiday gathering with family....they were a huge hit everywhere I took them. All I did different was leave out the bourbon & the coconut. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made these last night for my bf and he was a little hesitant to try them. Once he bit into them, he was in heaven. Def will make this again. Only one substitution made and that was replaced buttermilk for the bourbon. Oh...wait, no pecans just cause I'm not a huge fan of any nuts in cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Well, I did the 1 inch balls, and they turned out huge, so I will probably do a little smaller next time. This seemed to be a crowd pleaser at work, but I thought they were just too big. I used sprinkles intend of nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States