Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Instead of bourbon, I used 1 part vanilla 2 parts water, and for the evaporated milk, I used whipping cream or half & half will work. Just by reading the recipe, 4 cups of powdered sugar is way too sweet. I used 2.5 cups and Left out the nuts. It was an easy yet very tasty recipe. I would probably use this recipe when I'm limited on time. I prefer chocolate chips in my red velvet cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
ok but not amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Very good but also very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Delicious! These are very soft and sugary (with the icing). I chose to leave out the coconut and pecans. They were not missed! The cookies make for a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
The frosting was grainy and the cookies themselves had an unappealing flavor. I followed the instructions exactly as they were because i am very OCD like that. I will never make them again unless i use my own homemade recipes of frosting and red velvet cake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Looks great but the cookies were dry and definitely more cake-like w/ not much flavor. I don't know if it's due to the cake mix or what, but I didn't get the chewy delicious cookies I read so many people did. The filling was too runny even after adding more powdered sugar and cream cheese and I ended up with a huge jar left over so I'd half the frosting recipe. Not sure what happened. I was going to give these out to clients but I don't think I'm going to. I was so excited to make these but they just weren't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have a serious sweet tooth. Even so, these are WAY too sweet for my liking! The Icing recipe could easily be cut in half. I was very generous with the amount of icing in the sandwiches and still ended up with 2 cups left over. Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Made these yesterday for a potluck with RAVED reviews. One friend who doesn't eat much literally scarfed 3 of these within 5 mins. I reduced the powered sugar for the icing to 2 cups b/c the red velvet cookies themselves were plenty sweet. I agree that walnut sized dough balls were probably a little bit large although no one seemed to complain! I put less of the filling in the cookies (they weren't fluffy or as pretty as the picture on the recipe). I wonder if anyone has actually mixed the nuts inside the icing so it makes the filling mixture look taller inbetween the cookies. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I thought these were fantastic! The only thing I did a little different was the filling - I used sour cream instead of butter and left out the wet ingredients, and we use walnuts on our red velvet so we added some walnuts to the filling before topping with the other cookie- only because we like the flavor but they are prettier just red and white. They are moist - eat them fast before they go bad!{{like thats a problem}} I also used this as a "base", if you will, to make dark chocolate cake cookies with peanut butter filling... yum yum yum ... and now im trying key lime :D I have to say that I like this recipe the best because the batter is not runny and not stiff enough to roll and cut - I use the larger side of a melon baller to scoop a slightly rounded little scoop - it makes the perfect size cookie in my opinion- with such a caloric treat you really dont want these huge cookies so its much easier to watch the cookie intake of myself and my son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I love this recipe and so does everyone else I have made it for! I only made a couple of substitutes, I added melted coconut oil for the vegtable. I used carrot cake mix, and milk chocolate mix. I did in fact for the first trial of making this recipe use red velvet cake mix. Whatever changes you may make, or add to it this recipes is a winner. After I write this review, I am going to make a batch! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimme63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Osos, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States