Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
UPDATE!!! Forget my last review tried them today They were excellent! Loved the texture flavor was delicious. Defiantly tastes brtter the day after you make them!!!Im rating on the cookie alone I chose a different filling recipe.i thought they were average 5 star rating for being easy to make taste wise just ok for me wasnt blown away by them but they do turn out adorable so i will use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Knightdale, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I love red velvet cake...but VERY picky. There are few good recipes out there...and as a cookie - this one's a winner. It's hard to mess up, which I love. I did leave out the bourbon, coconut, pecans (because of nut allergies, and used a splash of milk instead of the evaporated. For 50 - michelan star restauraunt chefs...this was the first cookie to go. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macmcneely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Instead of bourbon, I used 1 part vanilla 2 parts water, and for the evaporated milk, I used whipping cream or half & half will work. Just by reading the recipe, 4 cups of powdered sugar is way too sweet. I used 2.5 cups and Left out the nuts. It was an easy yet very tasty recipe. I would probably use this recipe when I'm limited on time. I prefer chocolate chips in my red velvet cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
ok but not amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Very good but also very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Delicious! These are very soft and sugary (with the icing). I chose to leave out the coconut and pecans. They were not missed! The cookies make for a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
The frosting was grainy and the cookies themselves had an unappealing flavor. I followed the instructions exactly as they were because i am very OCD like that. I will never make them again unless i use my own homemade recipes of frosting and red velvet cake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ProudMama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Looks great but the cookies were dry and definitely more cake-like w/ not much flavor. I don't know if it's due to the cake mix or what, but I didn't get the chewy delicious cookies I read so many people did. The filling was too runny even after adding more powdered sugar and cream cheese and I ended up with a huge jar left over so I'd half the frosting recipe. Not sure what happened. I was going to give these out to clients but I don't think I'm going to. I was so excited to make these but they just weren't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I have a serious sweet tooth. Even so, these are WAY too sweet for my liking! The Icing recipe could easily be cut in half. I was very generous with the amount of icing in the sandwiches and still ended up with 2 cups left over. Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States