Dawn's Easy Red Velvet Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The 1st thing everyone who took a bite of these said was, "MMMMM!". These are great cookies, and they are so pretty! I left out the bourbon and coconut, but used the pecans. They were amazing. The only issue I had was that there was so much extra icing. My suggesion would be to get the icing recipie for 12 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is good but incredibly rich. masking smaller cookies is better. I used a tsp measure to portion the cookies & baked for about 41/2 minutes. I also didnt really like the icing. Too tangy and too sweet. Made a second batch with another frosting recipe (buttercream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Left out the bourbon and used a cooked icing recipe for another red velvet cake recipe, but wished I had used the one given here without the nuts and coconut. Next time I will make the cookies one-half the size of walnuts as the the cookies are just too big when put together in a sandwich. Like eating a meal and I cannot imagine a child eating one. Would like to try these with a lemon or choc. cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie S.
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These were a HIT at my office. They were gobbled up in about 30 seconds! I left the bourbon, coconut & pecans out. Next time I may make 1/2 with pecans and 1/2 without. Also, I used regular milk instead of evaporated (just because I didn't want to open a whole can for 2 tsp.) I'm making them again this week! Edited: I tried this around Easter using Carrot Cake mix instead of Red Velvet and they were equally delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lchoward
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Delicious! I used a teaspoon of vanilla in place of the bourbon, fat free cream cheese for the icing, and left out the coconut completely. I love these! This frosting is pretty runny- I recommend leaving out the liquid. I have also tried these topped with a cream cheese frosting and pecans rather than as a sandwich, but they're just not as fun (or pretty) that way. I love how the cookie texture is not very cake like - it's super moist and really tastes like a cookie! Can't wait to try this with a carrot cake mix!This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
so easy! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary LeeAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made the cookies and left out the Bourbon completely, they turned out GREAT! I also left out coconut and pecans in the end, but everyone who ate these absolutely loved them! I've already gotten a request to make these again for the holidays. This is a super easy recipe to use with any cake mix/icing combination. I'm going to try others at some point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
SO EXTREMELY YUMMY! i havent even made the icing yet, but i made the cookies with white chocolate chips (and sour cream instead of bourbon) and they are to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
These were so easy and everyone liked them very much. I did use the cooked icing from another recipe on this site (Red Velvet Cake by Eleanor Johnson) since I consider that the ultimate icing for red velvet anything. Will make again soon - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Everyone LOVED these cookies...they couldn't stop talking about them! Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States