Dawn's Candied Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These are the best! I initially made them as gifts but had to make a second batch because we couldn't stop eating them. The next time I made them I substituted almonds and used orange extract instead of vanilla. If you sprinkle in a little orange zest when you add the extract it gives them a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe! I added 1 tsp. grated tangerine (could use orange or lemon too) rind after cooking. Gave a nice twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Great with walnuts and pecans. I would use a different recipe for almonds. Also, it is important to be ready to stir the nuts with the mixture right away, or a lot of nuts are left uncoated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I have made these nuts for years. Learned that if you stir the nuts [after syrup has been added] until they appear dry you just have to pour them out onto a cookie sheet to cool. It takes just a few minutes. No sticky syrup mess, and nuts are good to go almost instantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this recipe using pecans. Does anyone know how long they will last and if I can prolong their shelf-life by storing them in the refrigerator? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Simple & Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very easy and quick as promised. I used 2 tsps of applie pie spice instead of cinnamon and it is very tasty! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Oops, sorry. I did make one change to the recipe I forgot to mention in my first review. I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup light brown sugar in place of 1 cup of white sugar. Other than that kept it the same. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These were much easier than I thought they would be.... I used coconut sugar and made a super tiny batch with a handful of walnuts, and I didn't do the soft ball test or use my thermometer. They came out delicious..... Added a little extra cinnamon.... Going to put them in mushrooms with goat cheese and wrap them in bacon if I can manage not to eat them all first.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I've Been making these for years, It's one of those treats that people look forward to eating around Christmas time. I make Large Batches, and give them as gifts. Other members of my family have tried to make nuts, but they just never come out as good as this recipe. Love Love Love!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States