Dawn's Candied Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Fabulous! But, like others, I took my eyes off the pot for one minute. Sugar turned completely grainy, but I reconstituted it with milk - one tablespoon at a time. Very forgiving. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
These came out excellent! Used them in my strawberry salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I usually make a thicker gooier more decadent recipe than this but wanted my walnuts light and slightly sweet for a deconstructed apple pie. It turned out perfect. I added a touch of cardamon, since I wanted to incorporate this flavor in my apple pie. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Big hit! Delicious and simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
They tasted great, but I'm no candy maker. The "glaze" didn't coat the walnuts. I used a candy thermometer, and it said it was at the soft ball stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
These are great and they made really nice gifts when packaged in a pretty cello bag at christmas time. This recipe will forever be in my christmas candy and cookie line-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delibeanjelly
Home Town: San Andreas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
These were wonderful! We couldn't stop eating them. Used a mix of walnuts and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
A good recipe but it should come with a warning. "Do not turn you're back on the sugar mixture, even for a second." That's what I did and the results were not good. I turned off the sugar to put the walnuts into a bowl and when I went to get the sugar it had harden. I tried to save it by reheating it. I had to add some more milk, but by the end it had slightly burned and there wasn't enough to cover all the nuts. I'd recommend making the walnuts first and then the sugar glaze. But even though I made a mistake, the nuts came out delicious. Perfect to add to ice cream to make it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Awesome! I chopped the walnuts a little before making and sprinkled them on roasted carrots and brussel sprouts lightly coated with brown butter. Served with prime rib and potatoes for Christmas dinner. Lots of compliments on the combo of savory/sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I used fresh chandler walnut halves, and they simply couldn't be better. I wanted them to be vegan, so I used almond milk and I also used the Florida crystals pure cane sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States