Dawn's Candied Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great recipe! I made this as Valentines Day gifts and people loved it. A few comments: 1) I doubled the recipe, but I wouldn't make much more than that at one time unless you have a very big bowl -- you need space in the bowl to mix. 2) I made this with both walnuts and pecans. Both were great, but I really really loved the pecans. 3) The recipe says to add the nuts to the syrup, but in that case you'd be making a small amount of syrup in a very large pot, which is difficult. I put the nuts in a large bowl and added the syrup to the bowl to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Quick, easy and delicious! This is definitely a keeper recipe that I'll make over and over again. Not only will these be great over the holidays, but I made this initial batch to use in salads. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
My two year old and I can't stop eating these. They are so good. I wasn't even sure about the candy stages, but I just cooked the mixture about 8 minutes and called it good. I love these in salads too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Fabulous! It tasted so good. Next time, I'd probably double the caramel next time. I love the gooey sweet goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZestforFood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
So easy!! I don't have a candy thermometer, so I trusted other reviewers who said that the 8 minutes was accurate. I forgot to add the vanilla, but they still turned out great! I'll definitely use this recipe again, and like others mentioned, I'll try pecans too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I have been trying to eat ultra healthy for a long time now, so sweets are not a normal part of my diet. I just made these with some healthy modifications, and they are SO DELICIOUS. Instead of milk, I used plain, unsweetened rice milk ( same measurements ). Instead of sugar, I used erythritol ( again, same measurements ). You get all the flavor, and no dairy or sugar. This recipe is a real winner, and the times listed are perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knancy
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Easy and delicious! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A friend of mine made me a salad that had these as well as raisins, blue cheese and a raspberry balsamic vinaigrette dressing. It was so good, and I had to find out how to make the candied walnuts. Thanks so much for the recipe! I'd also like to try them with Splenda and cinnamon, as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These walnuts are fantastic and so easy to make! I used them in a salad with dried cranberries, clementines and baby greens topped with a white balsamic vinegarette dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States