Dawn's Candied Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
These were wonderful! We couldn't stop eating them. Used a mix of walnuts and pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
A good recipe but it should come with a warning. "Do not turn you're back on the sugar mixture, even for a second." That's what I did and the results were not good. I turned off the sugar to put the walnuts into a bowl and when I went to get the sugar it had harden. I tried to save it by reheating it. I had to add some more milk, but by the end it had slightly burned and there wasn't enough to cover all the nuts. I'd recommend making the walnuts first and then the sugar glaze. But even though I made a mistake, the nuts came out delicious. Perfect to add to ice cream to make it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Awesome! I chopped the walnuts a little before making and sprinkled them on roasted carrots and brussel sprouts lightly coated with brown butter. Served with prime rib and potatoes for Christmas dinner. Lots of compliments on the combo of savory/sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I used fresh chandler walnut halves, and they simply couldn't be better. I wanted them to be vegan, so I used almond milk and I also used the Florida crystals pure cane sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
easy, tasty, pretty. After I put them in a Christmas tin, I took two candy canes, crushed them (not too finely) and sprinkled them over the walnuts. Added a nice "zing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These are the best! I initially made them as gifts but had to make a second batch because we couldn't stop eating them. The next time I made them I substituted almonds and used orange extract instead of vanilla. If you sprinkle in a little orange zest when you add the extract it gives them a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe! I added 1 tsp. grated tangerine (could use orange or lemon too) rind after cooking. Gave a nice twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodlake, California, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Great with walnuts and pecans. I would use a different recipe for almonds. Also, it is important to be ready to stir the nuts with the mixture right away, or a lot of nuts are left uncoated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I have made these nuts for years. Learned that if you stir the nuts [after syrup has been added] until they appear dry you just have to pour them out onto a cookie sheet to cool. It takes just a few minutes. No sticky syrup mess, and nuts are good to go almost instantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this recipe using pecans. Does anyone know how long they will last and if I can prolong their shelf-life by storing them in the refrigerator? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Buddha's Hand Citron

See how to make a unique candied citrus treat.

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States