Dawn's Candied Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made these to go in a strawberry and spinach salad b/c I was tired of payin $3/.5 cups. I mixed walnuts and pecans to = 1lb so I wouldn't have to make a trip to the store. I didn't want to heat my house with the oven on, so I roasted them in a pan on the stove and added into the mixture and they were both done at the same time, just make sure to keep They are cooling on the table and I can't keep my kids out of them, hope I have some left for the salad tonight....... My candy themometer says soft boil is 240F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Amazing! I quartered the recipe and the mixture only took about 4 minutes to reach the proper stage/consistancy. Also, if you happen to have GRANITE countertops, no need to use parchment paper...just plop the nuts directly onto the granite and immediately separate with a fork. Thanks for the wonderful recipe--I'm using them for a salad for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These are really fantastic! So worth the little extra effort. I use them for my Michigan salads and everyone raves. Thanks, Dawn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Excellent! After making the first batch, I upped the nuts and kept the sugar mixture the same. Plenty of sugar to go around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made these for my daughter-in-law for this past Christmas she loved them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newell, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Easy and awesome! However, be careful when you store them - other things in the cabinet will pick up the cinnamon flavor. Put them in something airtight (not just a ziplock bag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Arm, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Yummy! I don't usually like walnuts, but these are heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
These are great! I made them on a whim for Easter, and they went really fast! I also added them to Strawberry Spinach salad, which made the salad even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryMo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
So Good! 2 suggestions: 1 - make sure you cook the walnuts long enough, I had never baked nuts before and the first time I made these I didn't bake the walnuts long enough. If your not sure, take them out, let them cool, and then taste to make sure they're done. 2 - If you don't have a candy thermometer make sure to check often for soft ball stage, the difference between soft ball and hard ball is only 30 seconds to a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States