Dawn's Candied Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Fot those of you, like me who had the walnnuts from Costco. 1 POUND of WALNUTS is 4 CUPS. My soft ball satge came at 8 min. I follwed the recipe exactly. These were super easy. I think next time I would play around with the spices and add cloves and use only 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I think the vanilla is too over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NeverMeasureChef
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
These were easy and fantastic! I used mostly walnuts, but also added some almonds and pecans. I also added a dash of allspice and grated in some nutmeg as well to give it a little extra fall flavor. I made them to snack on at work and I'm not sure they are going to make it to the office. I will definitely use this recipe again and again! Update: I thought that these turned out just as intended, but after reading reviews, the sugar on mine is a bit crystalized and powdery. Instead of using the thermometer next time, I'm going to try the cold water/soft ball test to really make sure I get it right. Even if I can't figure out how to make the soft ball stage, I'll still continue making these because they are that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Everyone loved them except me but I'm not sure I like Candied Walnuts.. these were easier to make than I'd thought and used the second reviewer's link, very helpful. One reviewer said to stir this together in a big stockpot before laying it out on paper and I did that.. it was very easy to mix up that way. Also, I didn't have wax paper so I put them on a broiler pan to cool and it cleaned up pretty easily too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Wonderful recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RentheFabulousBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I tried this recipe twice and it didn't turn out either time. The first time it stuck to the bottom of the pan and burned. The second time it crystallized as soon as it hit the walnuts and didn't coat them very well. Tasted good, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Awesome! And thanks for including Centigrade in your recipe, it helped me out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
These were SO good!! I've never made candy before and had a large bag of pecans. I was so careful with the first batch and tried to catch the "soft ball" stage as suggested in the review, but I think I just missed it. It was difficult to mix the nuts somewhat as they hardened very quickly. But it still tasted so good. I tried again right away, being more careful, and was much more aware of the soft ball stage. I added a little nutmeg to this batch. It came out perfect, with each nut being well coated and tasted like it could have been purchased. I mixed some of each batch into a snack size ziplock bag and gave them to the attendees at our Bible study and everyone loved them. Thanks for a great recipe. I'll be trying it again w/ walnuts and pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Truly amazing! YUM!! The whole batch I made vanished before the company came over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made these to go in a strawberry and spinach salad b/c I was tired of payin $3/.5 cups. I mixed walnuts and pecans to = 1lb so I wouldn't have to make a trip to the store. I didn't want to heat my house with the oven on, so I roasted them in a pan on the stove and added into the mixture and they were both done at the same time, just make sure to keep They are cooling on the table and I can't keep my kids out of them, hope I have some left for the salad tonight....... My candy themometer says soft boil is 240F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Walnuts

See how to get healthy, crunchy walnuts into your diet.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States