Davy Crockett Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I love oatmeal-raisin cookies and I was looking for a good oatmeal-chocolate chip cookie to match. I just didn't care for the texture of the oatmeal. Maybe I should have let the dough sit for a while before cooking. But my son loved them and thought they were like cookie dough so I give it a 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
My mom really liked these so I'll make them again. This recipe didn't have any salt called for, & I added 1/2 tsp, because I think it just balances the sweetness. So next time I think I'll decrease the sugar and maybe increase the salt to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Very good and very easy! After reading the reviews I made two minor changes: I used 1/2 the oil, added 2T melted butter and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I also added chopped walnut pieces and instead of all chocolate chips, I used 1/2 chocolate and 1/2 butterscotch. I didn't have self-rising flour so added 3 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of salt. I baked it in a 13x9 pan (that's all I have) and for about 20 minutes. They are delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I substituted baking sugar substitute (Splenda) for the white sugar to decrease calorie count. These are hearty and delicious. Just became my new oatmeal cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
The first time I made these I did not care for them. They were dry and not brown on top. I decided to try them again since they are so easy to make. Here is what I did different. I spread the batter in the bottom of my broiler pan which I lined with foil. I then baked them for 13 minutes then put them under the broiler for exactly 2 minutes. They came out delicious, brown on top and the chocolate chips were melted leaving a moist delicious cookie. I now make these cookies weekly. My husband and three boys just love em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Super easy and delicious! Disapeared in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I just made these and they turned out great! The perfect amount of chips. I used barley flour (all I had in the house) and they turned out just fine. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
These turned out great, I brought them to a cookout and they were almost gone before the burgers were cooked. A mix between a cookie and chewy granola bar. The only changes I made were instead of oil I used 1/2 c. applesauce and 1/2 c. peanut butter, I used mini chocolate chips and my flour wasn't self-rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Scobee
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Turned out great! I love how simple the recipe is and how quickly they come together. I tasted the dough before putting it in the pan and they seemed like they were missing something so I added about a half tsp of butter flavoring and that really seemed to do the trick. I also added pecans to ours. These make a great breakfast treat as they are kind of a cross between a blondie and a granola bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States