Davy Crockett Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I had been looking for a chewy chocolate chip bar recipe and this was perfect. Not certain why other reviewers didn't like this recipe, I found it Easy & Awesome. I cut back on the chips just slightly and the amount was perfect for my family's taste. I used a 10x15 pan, next time I might use a smaller pan for thicker bars. As stated by earlier reviewers, I added baking powder and salt to my all purpose flour since I didn't have any self rising on hand. Overall WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by man-at-home

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I just made these and they turned out great! The perfect amount of chips. I used barley flour (all I had in the house) and they turned out just fine. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Super easy and delicious! Disapeared in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
These turned out great, I brought them to a cookout and they were almost gone before the burgers were cooked. A mix between a cookie and chewy granola bar. The only changes I made were instead of oil I used 1/2 c. applesauce and 1/2 c. peanut butter, I used mini chocolate chips and my flour wasn't self-rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
The omission of the oil and oats in the directions has now been corrected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I added 1 cup craisins and 1 cup chopped almonds instead of the chocolate chips. I also used 1/2 cup melted butter and 1/2 cup oil instead of 1 cup oil. They were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and was quite pleased with the results. Although it's not my favorite bar cookie, it's definitely very good and and I would definitely make it again. I also love that the ingredients are things I usually have on hand - great for satisfying sudden cookie cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christie T.
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These are an awesome change from the traditional chocolate chip cookie. I'm glad someone went in and fixed the mistakes in the recipe. If you make it just as it is now, you will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
The first time I made these I did not care for them. They were dry and not brown on top. I decided to try them again since they are so easy to make. Here is what I did different. I spread the batter in the bottom of my broiler pan which I lined with foil. I then baked them for 13 minutes then put them under the broiler for exactly 2 minutes. They came out delicious, brown on top and the chocolate chips were melted leaving a moist delicious cookie. I now make these cookies weekly. My husband and three boys just love em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States