Davy Crockett Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Robin Scobee
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Turned out great! I love how simple the recipe is and how quickly they come together. I tasted the dough before putting it in the pan and they seemed like they were missing something so I added about a half tsp of butter flavoring and that really seemed to do the trick. I also added pecans to ours. These make a great breakfast treat as they are kind of a cross between a blondie and a granola bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This recipe has lots of room for improvement. Specifying the size of baking pan required would help a lot since this greatly affects the baking time. I also agree with some of the other reviewers in that the cookies are very bland and have too many chocolate chips. Easy to make, but I'm not sure I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My 1 and 2 year old daughters loved them, but my husband and I both agreed they were bland and not even close to being sweet enough. I didn't use self-rising flour, so maybe that was the issue?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Quick & easy to make. I found it needed longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christie T.
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These are an awesome change from the traditional chocolate chip cookie. I'm glad someone went in and fixed the mistakes in the recipe. If you make it just as it is now, you will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I had been looking for a chewy chocolate chip bar recipe and this was perfect. Not certain why other reviewers didn't like this recipe, I found it Easy & Awesome. I cut back on the chips just slightly and the amount was perfect for my family's taste. I used a 10x15 pan, next time I might use a smaller pan for thicker bars. As stated by earlier reviewers, I added baking powder and salt to my all purpose flour since I didn't have any self rising on hand. Overall WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by man-at-home

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Really not that great of a cookie. Too many chocolate chips, not enough oatmeal, not all that great even if these things were changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andymin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These are overall a good recipe...2 cups of choc chips is waaayy too much even for a choco lover, I used just 1 cup. I also used a 1/4 c. less oil which made the batter a little bit stiffer but the whole cup seemed like too much. They are still very oily and moist. these take much longer than 13 minutes to cook, more like 25 and are still gooey like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I'm glad to see the recipe has been revised! I, too, had to guess at mixing. The size of the pan is also not mentioned. The first time I made them I used a smaller baking sheet, and I had to bake them for about 30 minutes. This time I used a 15 x 10 pan, and it was better. I still had to cook them for 18 minutes, yet they are still the gooey texture you should look for. These are very easy to mix up! I would recommend not greasing the baking sheet; with this amount of oil, it's really not necessary and makes the batter much easier to spread. I add 3t of baking powder and 1t of salt to the recipe with all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
So easy and fast... If you don't have self-rising flour on hand (which I did not) just be sure to add a little baking soda and baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States