David's Secret Ingredient Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Holy Cow ..these were delicious. and i've made a hundred different kinds of choc chip cookie recipes. The only change was I probably ground up more than the 4 1/2 cups of rice krispies. I got carried away..more like 5 1/2. You couldn't really taste the rice cereal but it enhanced the taste of the cookie into something great. Oh I did add 1 tsp of baking powder as well as the baking soda because I love my cookies nice and puffy. GREAT SHARE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Delicious. The ground up Rice Krispies add a delicious flavor and with having to use less flour compared with other recipes the cookies don't taste as doughy and have a richer flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
These were wonderful. The cookies I get at the bakery are good but these are much better. They're the best tasting chocolate chip cookies I've ever had. I know some people have said the Rice Krispies give the cookies an odd crunch but apparently they're not grinding up the Rice Krispies fine enough. The cereal should be ground down to the consistancy of a fine ground cornmeal. It's the flavor of the Rice Krispies that makes these cookies so wonderful, not the crunch. The type of cookie sheet you have will determine how long you need to bake them. I have shiny restaurant quality heavyweight baking pans and it took 13 to 14 minutes for the cookies to get done. Darker and lightweight pans will probably require less time, maybe 10-12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Great cookies! I added the whole four crushed cups of crispy rice and left some uncrushed for an extra crunch. The cookies were soft in the middle and crunchy on the ends. Everyone loved them, and my daughter was mad when they were all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECE999

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
The flavor was good, I liked the crunch from the rice krispies, did not like that they baked to a thin cookie. I even refrigerated the cookie dough in an attempt to stop them from spreading out, it didn't help much. I probably won't make these again as I like a thicker chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
We enjoyed these. I had some Rice Krispies that needed to be used, so it was perfect. It makes them a bit sweet for me, but I really like the texture it gives them. My middle son thought they had oatmeal in them. I used a package of Peanut Butter/Semi-Sweet chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I took someone's advice and left a cup of rice krispies uncrushed and baked it.. it left chewy bits in the cookies.. that were kinda undesirable. it did not come out thin and krispy like others had stated .. but the down side was that i had to bake it a bit longer like about 11 to 14 minutes .. cause it was raw on the inside. also i didnt think that the sheet pan on the bottom helped..it didnt help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
THis was a big hit for Christmas one year. I thought they were great and the rice crispies gave it a good flavor and a neat texture. It was kind of messy to make but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
very moist...It's now my favorite chocolate chips cookies's recipe. Thank you it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I happen to like my cookies dense and chewy ... unfortunately these were neither so I didn't care for them. However my son and dh liked them so we're giving them 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States