David's Mesquite Smoked Texas Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Being a Texan myself, I am very picky about my BBQ, especially brisket. In fact, although I am a caterer and consider myself a very good cook; I was always fearful to attempt brisket. I have to say I took a risk and tried this recipe for my first attempt and it was AMAZING. My husband (a BBQ lover) raved and told me to laminate this recipe!! This brisket was so tender,easy and delicious. I even made it again in the same week for my extended family who now requests it at most family funtions. I am taking the idea of offering this to my catering customers into deep consideration as well. Thanks for the great recipe....it is definately a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKI810

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Are there 10 stars? This is one recipe that rates a "10" !! The only change I made was using an injectable marinade (garlic & herb). I used a cup and let the brisket marinate while I started the fire. The meat was very flavorful and "fork-tender". Definately one for your barbeque book !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Two hours in a smoker does not give enough smoke flavor - I followed the recipe but I still don't understand that if you have a smoker why finish in the oven? This may be a brisket but not a "smoked" brisket...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This is definitely a recipe for garlic lovers! I love garlic, and I thought it was just on the brink of too much - but not quite! Like all good brisket, it takes awhile, but you sure feel official when you taste it. Even good the next day chopped with bbq sauce on a hamburger bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I have made this many times and it is always wonderful. I use a gas grill with wood chips and have caught the whole thing on fire a few times. It actually turns out just as good or better. I also use salt free greek seasoning and season all so I can control the amount of salt a little better. Again this is awesome and I make it as often as I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OKIECOOK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. All the garlic is scary, but it was not overpowering at all. We took ours out before serving. After the brisket came out of the foil,saved the juice. The next day sliced it up thin and heated the juice and layed the meat in it before making sandwiches. Yummy. Was very happy with how tender the meat came out. Excellent recipe to try for the beginner as this was our first ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I baked this in the oven on 275 for 45 minutes a pound. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was excellent! We live in Texas and just got a nice grill and we were determined to conquer what Weber calls the Mt. Everest of Grilling -Brisket!! This was our second attempt and it was perfect!! Although we did make modifications - for a 5lb piece of meat we smoked for 2hrs and baked for 2hrs. We did most of the oven time at 275, except for the last 30 mins we did at 300. Also we didn't have greek seasoning so we used 2 tablespoons dried oregano 1 tablespoon dried rosemary 1 tablespoon dried onion 2 teaspoons granulated garlic 1 teaspoon dried lemon peel 1/2 tablespoon ground black pepper 1 tablespoon kosher salt And we used 2 cloves of garlic per pound, being sure to squash it release flavors. We plan on making this for my kids birthday party - easy way to feed a ton of people. Oh-one more thing -we got the meat from a butcher and not the grocer -it was a much better piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States