David's Mesquite Smoked Texas Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Are there 10 stars? This is one recipe that rates a "10" !! The only change I made was using an injectable marinade (garlic & herb). I used a cup and let the brisket marinate while I started the fire. The meat was very flavorful and "fork-tender". Definately one for your barbeque book !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This is definitely a recipe for garlic lovers! I love garlic, and I thought it was just on the brink of too much - but not quite! Like all good brisket, it takes awhile, but you sure feel official when you taste it. Even good the next day chopped with bbq sauce on a hamburger bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This was easy to prepare,and got rave reviews from my family. I will keep this receipe in my active file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Being a Texan myself, I am very picky about my BBQ, especially brisket. In fact, although I am a caterer and consider myself a very good cook; I was always fearful to attempt brisket. I have to say I took a risk and tried this recipe for my first attempt and it was AMAZING. My husband (a BBQ lover) raved and told me to laminate this recipe!! This brisket was so tender,easy and delicious. I even made it again in the same week for my extended family who now requests it at most family funtions. I am taking the idea of offering this to my catering customers into deep consideration as well. Thanks for the great recipe....it is definately a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKI810

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I have made this many times and it is always wonderful. I use a gas grill with wood chips and have caught the whole thing on fire a few times. It actually turns out just as good or better. I also use salt free greek seasoning and season all so I can control the amount of salt a little better. Again this is awesome and I make it as often as I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OKIECOOK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. All the garlic is scary, but it was not overpowering at all. We took ours out before serving. After the brisket came out of the foil,saved the juice. The next day sliced it up thin and heated the juice and layed the meat in it before making sandwiches. Yummy. Was very happy with how tender the meat came out. Excellent recipe to try for the beginner as this was our first ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Just finished this recipe and it is great. I used apple hardwood instead of mesquite and smoked on my Holland Grill on high for one hour and low one hour prior to the oven. Follow this recipe and you will have a brisket that falls apart. Best ever and I have had a bunch of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I baked this in the oven on 275 for 45 minutes a pound. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States