David's Mesquite Smoked Texas Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My whole family loved this! It was delicious. I only had crushed garlic and filled slices with that. I also couldn't find the greek seasoning and used spike seasoning. It was truly delicious! Definitely going into the rotation! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
As a Texan and living in South Texas, I've cooked and eaten my share of brisket. When I "smoke" a brisket I use about ½-1 tsp (depends on size of brisket) of Liquid Smoke and this time I took Heloise's advice and used the Greek seasonings rather than a mix that I usually use. Excellent! I double wrap it and put it in a 200 degree oven all night. The first couple times I got up 2 or 3 times to make sure it was okay ... now I just sleep through the night, dreaming about BBQ dinner the next day. The liquid smoke may not fool anyone at a brisket cook-off but it's pretty close to perfect. Thanks for the changes, Helo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was excellent! We live in Texas and just got a nice grill and we were determined to conquer what Weber calls the Mt. Everest of Grilling -Brisket!! This was our second attempt and it was perfect!! Although we did make modifications - for a 5lb piece of meat we smoked for 2hrs and baked for 2hrs. We did most of the oven time at 275, except for the last 30 mins we did at 300. Also we didn't have greek seasoning so we used 2 tablespoons dried oregano 1 tablespoon dried rosemary 1 tablespoon dried onion 2 teaspoons granulated garlic 1 teaspoon dried lemon peel 1/2 tablespoon ground black pepper 1 tablespoon kosher salt And we used 2 cloves of garlic per pound, being sure to squash it release flavors. We plan on making this for my kids birthday party - easy way to feed a ton of people. Oh-one more thing -we got the meat from a butcher and not the grocer -it was a much better piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by puertoricanflavor
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My first brisket, it turned out great my family liked it!! I am a garlic lover, so i will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puertoricanflavor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This turned out a great smoked brisket. My husband didn't use charcoal too, he just used mesquite wood and we smoked it for 2 hrs and then into the oven for another hour. I only had a 3.5 lb brisket so we cut the time in the oven down, because I was afraid of getting a dried up piece of beef jerky, instead it turned out very juicy and moist and was only a little tough still. It would have been fine I think if I had left it in the oven the entire time indicated even though it was half the size. Thanks for a great brisket! I used minced garlic instead of cloves since it is what I had. It worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
If only there were more stars for this recipe! HUGE HIT among family and friends. After making the first, I made three of these for a family reunion... Needless to say, all 60 family members were in awe. Great recipe! Try marinating the brisket in a can of Root Beer and Ginger Ale over night. The taste is phenominal. Thanks David
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Two hours in a smoker does not give enough smoke flavor - I followed the recipe but I still don't understand that if you have a smoker why finish in the oven? This may be a brisket but not a "smoked" brisket...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I baked this in the oven on 275 for 45 minutes a pound. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Just finished this recipe and it is great. I used apple hardwood instead of mesquite and smoked on my Holland Grill on high for one hour and low one hour prior to the oven. Follow this recipe and you will have a brisket that falls apart. Best ever and I have had a bunch of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jewish Style Sweet and Sour Brisket

Make a Jewish-style brisket that’s sweet, sour, and delicious.

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States