Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I have never left a review on anything, but MAN these peas were that good. I used the recipe as written except I halfed it can only cooked it 4 hours due to less ingrediants and they were amazing! We lost my grandad this past year and it was his new years peas we gathered around every year, now my family has elected me to carry on that tradition! They were that good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is a really great recipe. I halved it. Really flavorful not too salty. I had already fried some bacon so I just cut up 6 strips of bacon and added them to the peas and I added 2 tbsp of unsalted butter since I did not have any bacon grease left. I microwaved the bacon. Did not add salt only pepper. I thought 4 bullion cubes would be too much but they were perfectly seasoned. Use vidalia onions or a peru sweet onion for more flavor. For the ham I used left over honey baked ham and removed the honey rind and fat. I think I simmered only about six hours but they were a nice soft consistency. A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very tasty. I made some variations, only because I cook with what i have on hand. Didn't have bacon but used bacon grease. Also sauteed some carrots, celery and garlic with the onions and sprinkled very little hot pepper in (more for flavor, not enough to make it hot). My two year old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made these again this year. I only substituted the chicken bouillon for beef. Because chickens and other fowl move backward as they eat, that's not want you want for the new year. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ChristyMC
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My whole life we have always been made to eat black eyed peas on New Years day, and I have always hated them! My parents would always just open a can of black eyed peas, heat them in the microwave and serve.. it's no wonder I hated them! So I decided to make these peas and now I must say that I love black eyed peas!! This recipe was awesome, the only changes I made was to cut it in half (I was only feeding 2.5 people so we didn't need a lot) I used 12 oz. of bacon because I didn't want to use just a partial package and I added a bit of garlic. I also cooked it in the crock pot on low for 4 hours and then on high for 4 hours. My husband even took these to have as a meal at work the next day. I will never go back to canned black eyed peas again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Dave.. I'm from Savannah, Georgia and we always used hog jowl with our peas. I have mine ready as well as greens for money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Holy wow this was fantastic. The only difference is I didn't start the night before so I boiled the BEPs then let it soak for 4 hours. Changed the water and followed the rest of the recipe as instructed. This recipe was the bomb!!!! Takes a bit of work and effort but totally worth it. So good you won't want to share!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Made Dave's black eyed pea recipe and it was fabulous. Best tasting peas I have evr eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thcallow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
had to coddle a little more than i thought as the beans soaked up the water more than once. but worth all the work - these beans were the bomb! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is OFF THE CHAIN, Dave!!! I just made them yesterday for New Year's Day. These were so unbelievably good that my family had thirds!!! I didn't change a thing. Soooo tasty. Thank you for sharing your fabulous recipe. I'll treasure it with each use. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States