Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
OMG! Best black eyed peas I've EVER had! The only change I made was to cut it in half to make 8 servings. Otherwise, made exactly as written. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My family is not big on pork so I only used this recipe as a base. I omitted the ham and bacon. I boiled a smoked turkey leg in with the chicken bouillon before adding the peas for flavor. I sautéed onions and also threw in a couple cloves of garlic, 2 jalapeño peppers and a couple of bay leaves in the butter. Also added a dash of cumin in with the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
OMG! Dave, marry me...lol j/k. This was the most awesome recipe for black-eyed peas I've run across. I made it for a pre-New Year's family gathering and I'm already hearing the rave reviews - everyone wants to know the recipe. Thanks so much for sharing. I used a garlic salt with parsley mix and added a bit of celery and it was fab. I think next time I'll try to add some carrot shreds as well. - Don't need to add those things but adding a few more veggees is always a good thing :) Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Im new to this website but I love LOVE love it already. I originally was just browsing through NYE lucky meals and since i just moved into my own place i felt like why not bring in the new year right? SO i searched for a black eyed pea recipe and what ya know? Dave's recipe popped up and boy am i glad!!!! Im extremely happy with the success of this recipe. although i tweaked it a bit,it tastes amazing. Instead of water i used beef broth and instead of actual bacon i used Pork Hog jowl.i put everything in the crock pot last night at about 7:30 and woke up this morning at about 8 and they are better than my grandmothers peas!!!! thanks Dave for this awesome recipe! Happy New Years Folks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Born and raised in North Georgia into a family of real good Cooks. These are the best Black Eyed Peas I have ever eaten. Don't change the recipe at all...it's perfect. A bowl of peas, with a dollop of home made chow-chow and a big slice of cornbread and you have the perfect meal. Just fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is just what I was looking for, as I had lost my original recipe for "Hoppin' John!" Instead of bacon I use a ham hock and for seasoning; I add a teaspoon of Cayenne Pepper. Thank you so much! This is terrific southern cooking at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
These are some of the best BEP's ive ever had. I mostly followed the recipe but made a few changes. Firstly I only soaked the BEP's for about 4 hours and then cooked them over a low heat for another 4 hours and they still cooked perfectly. I also completely omitted the butter and bacon fat as i thought that the extra fat was not needed. In addition to the onions, boullion cubes, ham and bacon I also added a few crushed garlic cloves and a about 9 bay leaves. I did not need any salt as the boullion cubes and the bacon took care of that for me. Again these turned out perfectly and are so good that i doubt they will survive the next three days. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wish I could give 10*! Yes, that good. Did it all in the crock pot, but added a ham bone. No bacon on hand, sautéed the onions in bacon grease (always on hand). Thanks sooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Wonderful! I served it with rice. The only tiny change I made was the fact that I substituted 1/2 black beans as I didn't have enough peas on hand. It made its own nice thick gravy that was the best with rice! Great cold day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My whole family loves this! The only deviations I made were: add chopped green bell pepper and a bit of minced garlic. It is so good that it would be a shame to only eat this once per year! We have it often and always with homemade cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States