Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Well I will have to say I doubted this would be good. I have never made a black eye pea recipe I liked... THIS WAS AWESOME!!! I will be making this every New Year from now on! Only thing I did different was use 1 Knorr beef stock in addition to the chicken bouillon cubes. Thank You for the kickin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Best I've had despite leaving out the ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Fantastic & easy. Put everything in the crockpot this morning (cooked on low for 10 hrs). I did add chopped carrots and celery, 1/2 cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is absolutely amazing! I halved the recipe, added a little garlic, added a couple ham hocks and reduced the cooking time to about five hours. These peas were out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanycholmes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Boy, oh boy! This recipe is going in my cook book! I cut recipe in half. Used smoked country ham (that I'd already had). Didn't use bacon but had some bacon grease on hand that I used. This is a fine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Mmmmmm!!! Slap your Momma good! Make this and start your diet tomorrow. If you cut the recipe in half you will not have leftovers..... I used a Honey Baked Ham bone which I bought from the HBH store, if you buy a big bone it has a lot of ham still remaining and is soooo delish!! And dont forget to shred some cabbage (for money) and saute it with some onions and garlic. Happy New Year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamasita757
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Although I have eaten black eyed peas before, this was my first time ever making them. There is no need for me to ever search for another recipe. This recipe is perfect. The only change I made was that I substituted the ham for more bacon instead and I didn't add any salt, only pepper. Yummy!!! My husband says this will be our New Years tradition from here on out. Erica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Amazing! I was afraid of black eyed peas until this recipe! I'm pretty good at pinto beans, butterbeans and awesome at black beans, but was never able to make a good tasting pot of black eyes peas. Until now thanks to this recipe!!!! Happy New Year! Now let me see if I can master some collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Wagnon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
OMG! Best black eyed peas I've EVER had! The only change I made was to cut it in half to make 8 servings. Otherwise, made exactly as written. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States