Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
These are some of the best BEP's ive ever had. I mostly followed the recipe but made a few changes. Firstly I only soaked the BEP's for about 4 hours and then cooked them over a low heat for another 4 hours and they still cooked perfectly. I also completely omitted the butter and bacon fat as i thought that the extra fat was not needed. In addition to the onions, boullion cubes, ham and bacon I also added a few crushed garlic cloves and a about 9 bay leaves. I did not need any salt as the boullion cubes and the bacon took care of that for me. Again these turned out perfectly and are so good that i doubt they will survive the next three days. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wish I could give 10*! Yes, that good. Did it all in the crock pot, but added a ham bone. No bacon on hand, sautéed the onions in bacon grease (always on hand). Thanks sooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Wonderful! I served it with rice. The only tiny change I made was the fact that I substituted 1/2 black beans as I didn't have enough peas on hand. It made its own nice thick gravy that was the best with rice! Great cold day meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
My whole family loves this! The only deviations I made were: add chopped green bell pepper and a bit of minced garlic. It is so good that it would be a shame to only eat this once per year! We have it often and always with homemade cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristyMC
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My whole life we have always been made to eat black eyed peas on New Years day, and I have always hated them! My parents would always just open a can of black eyed peas, heat them in the microwave and serve.. it's no wonder I hated them! So I decided to make these peas and now I must say that I love black eyed peas!! This recipe was awesome, the only changes I made was to cut it in half (I was only feeding 2.5 people so we didn't need a lot) I used 12 oz. of bacon because I didn't want to use just a partial package and I added a bit of garlic. I also cooked it in the crock pot on low for 4 hours and then on high for 4 hours. My husband even took these to have as a meal at work the next day. I will never go back to canned black eyed peas again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I fixed this on New Year's Day and it was sooo good. Cooking the bacon and then the onions and then adding it to the beans made them so flavorful. The only change I made was I used chicken stock in place of the water and bouillon cubes. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
First time I have ever cooked black-eyed peas that weren't in a can. I had no idea they couold be that yummy. I omtted the butter and jazzed it up with onion, garlic and some smoked paprika. Served it up with some cornbread and we had us a nice meal. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
The first time I tried this recipe it turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is OFF THE CHAIN, Dave!!! I just made them yesterday for New Year's Day. These were so unbelievably good that my family had thirds!!! I didn't change a thing. Soooo tasty. Thank you for sharing your fabulous recipe. I'll treasure it with each use. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I grew up in the south but with a mom who was not southern at all. As an adult I decided I was adopting the traditional New Years meal of this region. Made this recipe two years ago and am back to make it again. Excellent recipe and very easy for a newbie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States