Dave's Georgia Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I had to hard boil my peas because I didn't have to let them soak. I'm pretty sure I didn't change anything because this would be about the second time I have made blackeyed peas. This recipe was the best blackeyed peas I've ever had. My momma would have been proud. I found myself craving them and ate them for breakfast they were so good. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber Crowson
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My husband and I have recently moved to the midwest and when New Year's rolled around we found a major cultural difference that grocery stores did not sell black eyed peas! My in-laws sent us a bag just in time. This is the first year I have had to make them. I tried this recipe and invited all of our neighbors over and everyone loved it!! I served it with Cornbread. It was fabulous! The only thing I did differently was used 7 cups of water instead of 12. I like my peas to be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Crowson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I used ham base instead of the bouillon. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Wonderful recipe! Reminded me of my southern roots (live in Midwest now)! I used leftover Christmas ham and had to sub 16 bean soup mix(did not use spice packet) ONLY bc I procrastinated and went shopping on NYE so all the black eyed peas were gone, uh duh! I also omitted salt and pepper bc the bacon and butter/grease was plenty of salt. Other than that followed recipe to the tee and it was a big hit with family. Will definitely make again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I made this recipe for the first time for New Years Day. Doubled the recipe but followed it exactly. OVER 60 people ate from this "32 serving" concoction. EVERYONE LOVED IT!!!! Super easy!!! Will make again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Atterbery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I like my peas in a thick juice and this was kind of watery. I used an oval-shaped slow-cooker so maybe I didn't need as much water as the recipe called for. They were done in 4 hours too. The peas were soft enough without being mushy but they weren't as flavorful as I'd hoped. I might used some smoked meat next time instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
My grandpa always had a big garden with a lot of black eyed peas. One of our summer jobs was to "shell" peas. I grew up being told that dried black eyed peas were not as good as fresh black eyes, and had never tried them. My family was wrong. Fresh are great, but the dry peas become thick and almost creamy while cooking. The only changes that I made were I had cooked a ham for Christmas so I added the ham bone, cut the butter to 1/4cup and the bacon to 4 thick slices. I served the peas with corn bread. We all had seconds. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent! We halved the recipe and simmered for four hours. It turned out great. Might add a little garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious! After the soak, I threw mine in the crock pot with smoked turkey legs. Outstanding recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
If I could give this 10 stars I would. This is simply outstanding. And this, coming from someone that does not like black eyed peas. For being so simple, it amazed us. I halved the recipe as there is only 2 of us. So I cooked it in the slow cooker. One hour on high and 3 hours on low....done perfectly. Thanks for sharing such an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States