Dave's Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was my first attempt at making cole slaw and I had great results. Just want to note that I substituted the dill pickle and pickle juice for sweet relish--just a personal preference. Also, I have made this many, many times and now I add only a medium onion per head of cabbage. I was being told that the onion flavor was a bit overpowering, so I have cut it back considerably. It's also worth mentioning to experiment with different types of mustard. I have used sweet and spicy and dijons, all with great results. The sugar balances it out nicely. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirjmiggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bushkill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
this is the only recipe i will be using from now on. i didn't have a pickle, so i used a tablespoon of dill relish instead. also decreased sugar to 1/4 cup. tasted great and got better with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I have spent years looking for a great cole slaw recipe and this IS IT! Tart, tangy perfectly balanced - Dave you did it - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this coleslaw for a potluck and it was pretty good (on day one). A few days later I made a fish dinner and thought I would serve the coleslaw as a side. It was awesome! So much better on day 2 and 3. Yum! It's also very easy to make (especially if you cheat and buy the pre-shredded cabbage with carrots like I did. I used 2 bags.) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Excellent and easy cole slaw dressing, but WAY too much of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I have to say, I was very surprised when I made this recipe. I thought that adding the mustard would ruin this, but it didn't. I had about 25 guests that I made this for and everyone loved it! I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMBILALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Troy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Delicious! Perfect levels of tang & sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I have tried many different varieties of coleslaw. This is by far the best ever! Thanks Dave, with just a few minor changes to suit my family, it was delicious. I left out the carrots & added tomato's diced small right before serving instead. I used sour cream instead of Buttermilk. The perfect slaw recipe that I have been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I just thought this recipe tasted ok. I followed the recipe as stated except for scaling back to 6 servings. I only let the flavors blend in the fridge for 4 hours initally before serving. I am used to a sweeter coleslaw so was tempted to add more sugar but did not. In all fairness, I tasted again 24 hours later and the flavor didn't taste any different than at 4 hours. For our family, there was too much dressing and it was soupy (even after being in the fridge overnight). I do feel this would be good on a pulled pork sandwich because it does not have an overpowering sweet or sour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This is a wonderful creamy coleslaw; not too sweet and just the right amount of tang. I served this at a bar-b-que with a whole roasted pig. This slaw was perfect. It makes a lot of dressing so use a big head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States