Dave's Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is a crowd pleaser. This coleslaw is elevated because of the yin yang relationship of sweet and tangy. I cheated w/ a 16 oz. bag of coleslaw mix (green & purple cabbage w/ carrots). Not being sure about the equivalency of a head of cabbage to a 16 ounce bag, I stuck with the amount of ingredients per the recipe since it would be easy to drain away any excess ‘liquid’. In subsequently looking up info, it appears an average size head of cabbage produces about 8-10 cups, or roughly 32 ounces. When making again, I’ll halve the mayo & buttermilk unless 2, 16 oz. bags are used. One modification was to garnish this dish w/ blue cheese, reduced fat crumbles. This was served as an optional topping on Shredded Chicken Tacos by Goya. ROXY24, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I didn't use a carrot; and instead of buttermilk, a little regular milk for consistency; and Splenda instead of sugar. This is the best coleslaw dressing ever! The pickle and juice really sets it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Absolutely fantastic recipe! Reminds me of the cole slaw that I used to make at work with a kit but so much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was very good. Not the same flavor as I'm used to having but very good flavor. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I have tried many different coleslaw recipes, and this is a keeper. My husband loves it! I took it to a Superbowl Party and it was a hit! We put this on our pulled pork sandwiches, and everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Simple & great tasting. This will be my coleslaw from now on. Thanks Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I have made this recipe several times and it is a big hit! I double (sometimes triple) the cayenne pepper and I add drained crushed pineapple... LOVE it!! Ohhh.... and I use the bagged shredded cabbage...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Middleville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This recipe was fantastic! Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Very good with just a hit of a heat. This recipe makes a HUGE amount of the coleslaw. We quite a bit left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Amazing coleslaw recipe! My husband loves coleslaw and has tried it from just about every restaurant in our area...never finding one he truly loved. Now I can make it myself and know that it tastes better than anything else out there. NOTE: I didnt have buttermilk so used equal amounts of sour cream in its place. Also, we ate it within two hours of making it and it was still fabulous! Cant wait to try it again tomorrow if its supposed to be better after more time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States