Dave's Big Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I've made raisin cookies several times, using this recipe. The cookies are very moist and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
We really liked these cookies. Great with a cup of tea before bed. I can't bring myself to use two teaspoons of salt in anything, so I used one and they were fine. I also bake everything at 350, and use no stick pans so I didn't grease the pans and I baked them at 350. Great cookies for raisin lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
These are great cookies, especially right out of the oven! I baked some half an hour ago and there are only two left. I mixed up the whole batch, formed them into four rolls, and keep them in the refrigerator for quick treats. One thing I did wrong is to mix the raisins in with the dough in the Kitchen Aid mixer. After boiling the raisins, they broke up instead of staying whole. Next time I will mix them in by hand. I think I will add some chopped dates next time too, and maybe increase the nutmeg a bit, and add some nuts. They would make Hermits that way. But they are GREAT cookies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These are great cookies!! I also didn't use as much salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hay River, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kathlene07
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Taste super good right out of the oven! Might add some more spice next time. GREAT Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Made these cookies just as the recipe is written. The only change I made is that I really didn't let the raisins and water cool before I added it to the dough and I did not chill until the dough was firm. I don't think it mattered, though -- They turned out great, especially if you like cookies with a cake-like texture to them. Next time, I will error on the side of baking for less time. They looked kind of pale when I check on them at 10 minutes, so I baked them for 12 and were a little darker than I would have liked them to be. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
My father made a similar cookie, he called them Yummy Raisin Cookies. He added a cup of chopped walnuts, used 1 teaspoon of salt and skipped chilling the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have no idea why there are so few reviews for this recipe. It's phenomenal!! Hearty, homey and wholesome, full of flavor. Equally at home with a tall, cold glass of milk or a steaming mug of latte. I made two minor alterations. The 2 tsp of salt seemed too high to me, so I cut back to 1-1/2 tsp and the result seemed just right to my palate. I discovered I only had 1 cup of raisins, so I filled in with a cup mixed of craisins and cut-up prunes. I did allow them to cool before mixing them in, as directed, and I did chill overnight. However, the second time I made them, I didn't chill, and there was no discernible difference in the end product. They don't spread on the sheet, so what you see going into the oven is pretty much what you get coming out. Mine, therefore, were much puffier than those pictured. Lovely, chewy texture which equals a good keeper. The spice makes them irresistible. 10 minutes was perfect timing. The recipe makes a lot, so perfect for a crowd, one you'll be proud to serve. A fabulous heritage cookie jar filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great cookies! Very moist and tender. I didn't have any raisins so I used dried blueberries and cranberries instead. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States