Dave's BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I was making ribs and realized I didn't have any BBQ sauce. I picked this one out because it looked tasty, and it didn't let me down. My husband was shocked that I made it myself, and I have to say, I like it better than bottled sauce. Finger licking good! (we used it on pork ribs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was really really good! BUT, if you're looking for the genuine "BBQ" flavor- this isn't really that- but me and my hubby LOVED it. Tastes so good on out hamburgers. It's a definate keeper! (didn't have a lemon, so I used 1 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice.) Oh and I used 2 cloves of minced garlic instead of powder as I LOVE garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Really good. My husband couldn't tell it didn't come out of a bottle. This was a super easy recipe that was great because I had all the ingredients on hand. I will keep in mind for the next time I want bbqed chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Loved it! I was looking for something with the ingredients I had, and this was it! I doubled the recipe as follows: 1/2 c. apple cider vinegar, 1 cup ketchup, 3/4 c. water, 1/2 c. brown sugar, sprinkle of Lawry's seasoning, a couple dashes of worcestersire sauce, and... I sauteed a 1/4 of a small onion (chopped fine)and 1 chopped garlic clove and tossed it all in the bowl at the same time. I did make a couple of squirts of ketchup to make a thicker consistency. After all that....I had some boneless pork ribs, tossed them in the crockpot and put the BBQ mixture over the top. Stirred together and cooked about 4 hrs. on high, then turned to low until we were ready for dinner. When we were ready to eat, I took a large slotted spoon and separated the pork. I then ladled it onto good hamburger buns and even the kids ate all their dinner! I think next time I will use the Hawaiian buns. Overall, YUMMY!! (even hubby said so and he doesn't say things too often!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philomath, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
i would not consider this to be a bbq sauce. it is more like ketchup with a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was good; we used it for our 4th of July BBQ... I added a tsp. of liquid smoke and a touch of cayenne for spice! Kept the chicken moist, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
It was a good recipe to use in a pinch, as all ingredients are usually easily accessible. It kept the meat tender. Next time I will add more fresh garlic and smoke flavour and maybe 1Tbsp whiskey! You won't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I would more consider this as a sauce for shrimp cocktail - not a bbq sauce. As a seafood sauce - I'd give this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
If you're using this as a replacement for bottled BBQ sauce, you're going to be disappointed. However, if you're using this for a meat baster or IN something calling for BBQ sauce, it imparts nice flavor. I used this in "Slow Cooker Baked Beans" by wannabe chefette on this site and it was a PERFECT addition to that recipe, in lieu of bottled BBQ sauce. THANKS for the recipe, Dave G!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I needed a bbq sauce tonight for the Hawian Belly Buster Burgers on this site. Thank you, this worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States