Date Roll Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Missing Ingredients! I believe what this is missing is 1 tablespoon butter with the sugar and milk and 1 teaspoon vanilla with the dates and nuts. I prefer real butter and vanilla but margarine and vanilla flavoring will work. Cooking just short of the soft ball stage and beating in the dates and nuts with a wooden spoon makes it a bit creamier. Toasted pecans are our preferred nuts for this. I also use 1 1/2 cups of dates. My Grandmother made this every year until she couldn't, then my Mother took over. I inherited it when my Mom passed away. I am now teaching my daughter and daughter-in-law the tricks to making this wonderful candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
My father made this recipe every Christmas. We called it "snake" candy because it is formed into a long roll before slicing. It is absolutely delicious and would make a great holiday gift. It is very simple to make, taking less than 30 minutes with a food processor to chop the dates and pecans.I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipe is great with TWO cups of sugar. Helps reduce the "white stuff" we all get too much of. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Thank you so much for submitting this yummy candy recipe. When I was a child my mom use to make this candy around christmas and EVERYONE loved it so much. I have been searching and searching for this recipe for years, since I had lost my mom. Thank you Sandra!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
You left out the 2 tablespoons of butter and teaspoon of vanilla which is added when the mixture is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I'm not sure that this recipe had all the ingredients listed! I didn't understand what "softball" stage meant --- when I was finished, I felt that all I had was a log of suger! Yuk! I would love to hear more about this recipe from Sandra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is decent as written, but it does feel far too sweet (I know it's candy, but still). Changes I wish I had made: chopping the walnuts and dates more coarsely so as to have larger chunks of each, and cutting down the sugar so as to let the dates and nuts take a more prominent role. I'll do that next time, if there is a next time; should result in a more sophisticated end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I've been making this candy every Christmas since 1966. My grandmother made it every Christmas when I was a child. Three stars for this recipe because I think the 1 tablespoon of butter and teaspoon of vanilla was left out. Also, I cook the sugar, milk (I use whole milk) and pitted dates together until the soft ball stage. Then then add the nuts, butter and vanilla and beat until cool. Wrap in a wet towel and form into a log. Let cool completely and slice. This candy is delicious, melt in your mouth and different from the ordinary Christmas candy everyone makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Just as good as my mom made when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This candy is a festive tasting candy. The longer you let is mellow the better it is. Making it was a family Christmas tradition when I was growing up. Make it with your children and grandchildren for some fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States