Date Nut Pinwheel Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very good and not to sweet. I thought the dough was a little dry but stuck to the recipe, instead of wax paper I used plastic wrap to store the dough to cool. I rolled it out the plastic wrap which made it very easy to make a tight roll. I did find I needed to make an addition half batch of filling. Next time I will make a double batch. Can't wait to share with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Everyone loved these cookies! I made them exactly as the recipe calls. However, I gave it four stars because I do think they need more filling and a little less cinnamon and I love cinnamon. With these little changes they would be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misserin13
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe is simple and terrific. Before cooking, I pulsed the pecans and dates in the food processor. While cooking the filling over the stove, I used an immersion blender to make the filling into more of a paste. It was a bit easier to spread with more of a smooth consistency. The brown sugar gives the cookie a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Thanks so much to the member who gave dimensions. I had bought extra dates and thought what the heck and made 1 1/2 times the filling which barely made it, next time I will double the filling but still use the 10 x 14 roll out. Why go to all the effort of these great cookies and not get enough of the filling? Made them last week (tripled the recipe because there were 3 of us baking) and made tons of little ones to share and these were the first to be totally eaten. Made today's batch just for my family, not sharing these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Great Recipe! Just like Grandma's and I did mine like she would have and not used waxed paper to roll the dough onto. Just a well floured counter-top where the dough will slide on and not stick, fill, roll, then refrigerate overnight or freeze to set up the date filling. Slice and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
These are like the ones I made with my Grandma years ago, she made them without a recipe so I have been hunting for this. Loved by everyone who had them. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
my husband and i just got married new years and he has told me about these cookies that his grandmother used to make for him. I got this recipe and gave it a try i sent some with him to work got a call at lunch that i hit the nail on the head he just reqested more of the feeling in them. thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Now i am able to give him back some of his childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartow, Florida, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was such a hit at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morenci, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richards Bay, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Cookies are very good. Recipe called for cinnamon in the flour mixture but refers to it in the description as being in the filling. As I don't remember a cinnamon taste in my Moms I just left it out. I also used stick margarine instead of butter because that was what I had on hand. I made the 3 rolls and got 72 (6 doz) cookies, even better than the 60 listed. This is as close as I am going to get to my Mothers recipe, which I haven't found, yet. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These were seriously GOOD! I added them to my cookie lineup at Christmas and they were a hit. I took the advice of others and froze my rolls before I baked them. I just wish I could come up with a way to make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States