Date Nut Pinwheel Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Wow, wow, and WOW!!!! These manage to be deicate and chewy at the same time. Luscious filling. The lemon offsets the sweetness of the dates to perfection. The only change I made is to add a tsp of cinnamon to the dough, because that's how my mom made them and I knew from experience that the subtle spice showcases the date flavor and lets it shine. Toasted pecans make a tasty substitute for walnuts. A hint to keep the round shape of your rolls. Wrap the rolls tightly in plastic wrap,then put each end into a tall glass (mine are 16 oz) and lay the glasses (with the dough in them) on their sides in the freezer. The rolls will stay perfectly round. Yes, of course it's true that these are a little labor-intensive, but that was pretty clear to me before I even started making them, just from reading the recipe. If I wanted fast and easy, I'd make a drop cookie. These are well worth the time. Besides, the filling can be made one day, the dough made, filled and frozen the next, and then they can be baked anytime afterward, up to a month or even longer if tightly wrapped airtight. Take it in steps if you don't want to make a career out of them. Once you bake them, you'll want to do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made this with lemon zest substituted. The dough is a little sticky and hard to make a perfect pinwheel with but the taste was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
These are the best pinwheels I've tasted. The cookie is light and the date/nut mixture adds just the right sweetness. They're more difficult that drop cookies, but about as much work as any other rolled cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
These cookies are worth all the time and trouble they take to make! They are SOO GOOD! I couldn't wait several hours for the pinwheels to freeze as per instructions but 35-40 minutes in the freezer made them really firm before baking them. If your going to try these (and you really should) don't change a thing about the recipe and be sure to clean up as you go because it saves alot of time in the end. I for one will make these again and again and again. Thanks Jo-Anne for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLORADOKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
No one ever said these would be easy to make. Not that they're overly difficult, but they are somewhat labor intensive. I grew up with cookies very similar to these and wanted to recreate them. After tasting these I think I like these better. I'm pretty sure my mother didn't use lemon juice/zest, but I did. It cuts through the sweetness of the dates. The citrus really comes through. The only change I made was to add 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the dough. If you have an electric knife, this is a great time to use it. It makes cutting these cookies a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
These are the BEST DATE PINWHEELS I ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeside, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Thank you for posting this recipe. My Grandmother and I made date pinwheels every Christmas and since her death, the recipe got lost. This is almost identical in flavor to hers and I'm just thrilled. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sj1384

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lexington, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
MY MOM USED TO MAKE THESE AND I HAD LOST THE RECIPE IN KATRINA. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE IS THAT SHE USED PECANS INSTEAD OF WALNUTS. THANKS SO MUCH FOR POSTING THIS FOR ME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
It has been 50 years or so since I've had these. They are very close to what Mom made back then. Sure they are a lot of work, but worth every minute. The lemon zest and juice are just brilliant. The right amount of tangy to offset the sweetness of the dates. Mmmm, think I'll have another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States