Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe is very much like my grandmother's, but you should add to the recipe that you have to add the water that the dates are soaking in. Her recipe had you adding the water a little at a time when you added the flour. She also baked the bread in clean vegetable cans she saved to make mini loaves for gift giving. I use mini loaf pans instead. I also pair up the bread with a small container of home-made honey butter to make a great sweet treat gift! My friends and family love it! If you want, you can also include a small chees spread knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This is wonderful!! Far better then any recipe Betty C. ever gave us - it takes a bit longer to cook then it says - I baked it at 350 along with a banana bread I was making and it still took a little over an hour. You might also add to the instructions add the date mixture (water/soda/date) instead of just adding dates -my 10yo daughter was helping me make it and she couldnt figure out how to get the dates out of the water w/o getting water into the batter until I told her to dump the whole thing in =) Thanks Peggy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
A truly delicious bread (cake!) recipe. Moist, light, and flavorful! I took reviewer advice and baked at 350. At an hour the inside was still doughy, so I covered it with tinfoil to prevent anymore outside darkening, and it was done about 15 minutes later. An added cupful of raisins (or chocolate chips) goes wonderfully in the batter as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Try adding dark brown sugar instead of white, WOW! what a flavor difference I'd give it 6 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
The description is right -- you DO have to hide this to make it last!! I substituted 1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour for 1-1/2 cups of the all-purpose flour and it was still great! Low in fat, too! EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
this is a very tasty dark brown bread. soak the dates in the boiling/soda water, makes them so moist!! very good Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
This is a nice quick and moist date bread recipe. It was easy to put together and baking time was a little longer then the recipe called for. It is very good as a breakfast bread spread with cream cheese. Will definitely keep this to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I followed other reviewers advice (bake for 1 hour and plus with foil on top at 350 F) and came out just wonderful. I made 1 loaf worth and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
real good. Is just like my grandmothers if you substitute butter for the oleo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I made half of the recipe and i will say the bread was the worst tasting stuff i have ever eaten. The inside was all doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States