Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Awesome recipe! It gets great reviews every time I serve it. Want a twist? Add a 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. allspice for a great winter-time treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
A very good recipe. I just made it. Put some cream cheese on it and ate some, but the aroma was wonderful. I knew it was going to be great. I baked it a tad longer than I should. Freezing it will make it come out with more moisture. It is not burned, but next time I will put the timer on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I absolutely love a good date nut bread, but this just didn't make it. I didn't think it was dense enough, nor did I pick up a strong date flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Tastes WONDERFUL. It has a great flavor, and is perfect for breakfast. I also did what the other reviewers were saying, bake at 350, then cover with tin foil for 15 minutes. It turns out perfectly! I love making this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Love this recipe. Adding a half cup of sliced maraschino cherries even makes it better. Our old family recipes uses less sugar and tastes great. Make sure you alternate the date water with the flour when adding the flour. Using hot coffee instead of the hot water is also quite good as a variation. We also bake it in clean cans lined with wax paper that is greased and floured. The wax paper makes removal easy. Depending on the size of the cans you'll need about 4 cans. The old Campbell soup cans use to be the perfect size, but they are smaller now. The round shapes make attractive slices. While eating a slice plain is very good, I think you might find slathering cream cheese on a slice is even better than butter. Really, really a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
its a great bread...but i think it needs to be made in three loaf pans not two(which made a giant mess in my oven) and it needs to bake longer then an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdwashere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
4 1/2 cups of flour? Are you serious? I couldn't even taste the dates. I think there are some typos in this recipe, and the steps are not clear at all. Do not try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
i love dates and nuts, but i didn't like this recipe...will search for more recipes. came out quite dry and not a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Delicious. The centers on mine caved in, but it could be because I filled them to full. I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This bread is very good. I made it into a bundt cake and baked it an extra 20 min at 300 in a gas oven. I also had fresh dates to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States