Date-Nut and Brown Sugar Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Really enjoyed this recipe. In order to make it egg free I used 1/2 cup applesauce mixed with 1/2 tsp baking powder instead of the eggs. Also added 1 tbsp melted coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Lousias
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Perfect with a cup of coffee. So rich you only need one to stave the crave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Lousias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Very tasty, quick, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I had every ingredient available for this recipe, it wasn't to my liking. I could not taste anything passed the Cardamom. The bar was sticky thick but baked through. The instructions for the recipe were pretty simple but not being able to taste any other ingredient. I feel the cardamom could have been left out. Please note, that you need to be very liberal with the non-stick cooking spray for this recipe, brown sugar tends to stick harder then a cake when baked in a pan and you will find that a recipe like this won't come out of a pan as easy. Recommend spraying with non-stick spray and lining the bottom with parchment paper or wax paper for easy removal of the baked item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Love these! I added coconut on top -like a review suggested. Can't wait to eat them with my coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I added 1T. oil because it seemed to dry. I also sprinkled coconut on top before baking. Divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Awesome recipe! About as dense as a brownie, and with the dates, about 1-2 a day will suffice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Great recipe. There's this great Web Site that sells fresh dates from Israel. They're delicious. The site is www.holyfoodimports.com. Just in case anyone else out there loves making recipes with dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I couldn't wait to try this recipe. Seemed simple enough, and it was. I always taste the dough, and it seemed bland. But, I figured maybe it's one of those that taste better after it's baked. It's eww! My son even spit out the one bite he took. It just doesn't have any flavor. Good ingredients, just bad combo for our family. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I thought these were amazing. I just happened to have some chopped dates around that I needed to use up. I was very happy the way these turned out! I did add 1 c. of milk chocolate chips for an extra kick. I'll be making these for Xmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States