Date Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
This cake/pudding is one of the best date loaves we have tried. It has the added bonus of no eggs or cholesterol which is important being on a low cholesterol diet. I often serve it for dessert, warm with maple syrup and either low cholesterol cream, custard, low fat icecream or yoghurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bulls, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Really great and easy recipe. I love it and as its so easy I often just knock it together for a quick Tea time treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This is one of the easiest recipies I have tried. No gadgets to get out, no whisking, no mess. Just mix and bake, and perfect results every time. Lovely luke warm, but even better straight from the fridge. I put the cake in the fridge to cool, then slice it with a really sharp knife, as it may crumble if not really cold. Then have a slice when you fancy. Fantastically firm and morish without being too hefty. I have deviated from the recipe at times and added more fruit, like raisins and dried apricots. The apricot one was a winner. I think it is because of the soaking period, and I have soaked it for up to an hour at times, making it really moist. Doubling the amounts, I get three small bread loaf tins out of it, excellent for freezing. My favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I was skeptical because it looked too easy, but I pushed on ahead as I had some self-raising flour to be used up. I am so glad I did. This recipe was THE BEST... next time I have people over I plan to serve this warm as a dessert with a dollop of thick cream on the side. The house smells fantastic as it cooks, to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
I loved this cake. I was looking for something healthier and low in fat and this was really yummy. And I'm not even particularly crazy about dates. It was super easy (I bought the dates already chopped) and I agree with the other reviewer--it made the house smell amazing. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Low fat yet filling and yummy. I had to cook 10 minutes extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
What a wonderful date loaf. I've been makeing this almost every week since I've tried it. Its so easy to make and very tasty. I add chopped nuts along with the dates to give a little crunch. Microwave this and add a little butter. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHABOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This is the first cake i baked and it's fabulous! No one realized it's without eggs. Thanks a bunch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Delicious and simple! The recipe tolerates lots of changes - mix'n'match the fruits to your taste. I found the centre of the loaf sunk slightly and looked a bit sticky and uncooked when it was in reality perfectly done. I tried replacing some of the flour with oat bran and psyllium husk to increase the fibre, with truly EXCELLENT results - it added a bit of nuttiness to both the flavour and the texture. As usual with sweet recipes on this site, I reduced the sugar content as a matter of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAINTMARIA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
It was really good that I decided to take a pic of it and show it to all just to see its incredible result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shiraz, Fars, Iran
Living In: Ajman, 'Ajman, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States