Date Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
My family and I loved this recipe! It was very moist despite the low fat content, so I am going to push the envelope further and substitute applesauce for the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
The cake was very good and healthy. I made some substitutions and scaled to 1/2 instead of self raising flour used 1/2c all purpose flour and rest whole wheat flour, then white sugar as brown sugar was not there. It is really healthy as wheat flour was added and iron rich dates. Thumbs up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICHUSHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cochin, Kerala, India
Living In: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I found this dried out very quickly, perhaps because it's relatively low-fat and is baked at a high temperature? Not bad, rather sweet, I think there are better recipes for date loaf however this would be good for those who don't eat eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I found it wonderful in taste, sponge,and ease of making.My neighbour who never knew cake can be eggless loved it.i had just 1/2 a cup dates so substituted the remaining with raisins and prunes. also used a handful of Walnuts.used "I cant believe its not butter" instead of margarine.Will make again for sure. Must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I love this date cake. As I am in to healthy eating, I make it and then slice and freeze it. Its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAINTMARIA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
It was really good that I decided to take a pic of it and show it to all just to see its incredible result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shiraz, Fars, Iran
Living In: Ajman, 'Ajman, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Delicious and simple! The recipe tolerates lots of changes - mix'n'match the fruits to your taste. I found the centre of the loaf sunk slightly and looked a bit sticky and uncooked when it was in reality perfectly done. I tried replacing some of the flour with oat bran and psyllium husk to increase the fibre, with truly EXCELLENT results - it added a bit of nuttiness to both the flavour and the texture. As usual with sweet recipes on this site, I reduced the sugar content as a matter of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This is the first cake i baked and it's fabulous! No one realized it's without eggs. Thanks a bunch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
What a wonderful date loaf. I've been makeing this almost every week since I've tried it. Its so easy to make and very tasty. I add chopped nuts along with the dates to give a little crunch. Microwave this and add a little butter. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHABOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Low fat yet filling and yummy. I had to cook 10 minutes extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States