Date Loaf Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I tried this recipe and simply loved it. I replaced 1 1/4 cup flour with 1 cup flour and 3/4 cup wholemeal flour. I also added a 3/4 cup of chopped pecans for added crunch. The result was simply mouthwatering date loaf. I was so thrilled with it I immediately made another date loaf :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Sorry but this is not as flavourful as the old Good Housekeeping date loaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Of all the recipes I have tried this is the first one that has not appealed to me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I truly don't see why everyone loves this-sludgy and pretty much tasteless except for the dates. I tried it because I had a big tub of dates and self-rising flour left over from another recipe, but this one is NOT going in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawndale, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Easy to make and delicious! I had some leftover dates and I didn't want to use eggs. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Great recipe! I soaked the dates in brandy for close to 6 hours before I added into the mixture... Simply superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This recipe is truely fantastic, not only does always turn out moist and rich in flavour, but its not expensive or hard to make. I've made this for friends and family and you can have it sliced cool with butter or serve it hot with a toffee sauce and ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
just made this and already only half left,very moist i've added this to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This recipe was fantastic! I modified it a little. I added an extra 1/2 cup flour, an extra 1/2 cup dates, 1/2 cup pecans and baked it for only 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
This recipe is very nice, although it's a little bit plain. I recommend adding about a 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I use medjool dates which, as far as I know, are the moistest and sweetest, and I'd recommend putting 1 1/4 or 1 1/2 cups of dates instead of 1 cup (if you love dates). I put 1 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup white flour, which I think makes it less pudding-like and more cake-like. I also make mine in an 8X8 inch pan, so I cut the bake time down to 35-40 minutes, and I even put the temp down to about 390 instead of 400. It comes out really nice. It's still sort of plain and not very sweet, but if you like that kind of thing, you'll like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Kisco, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States