Date Flecked Orange Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Very good. I used only 1/2 cup of sugar, and reduced the cloves to 1/4 tsp and the ginger to 1/2 tsp. They were plenty sweet and browned well with the reduced sugar. Next time I may reduce the ginger a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
These are incredible! I used melted butter or oil instead of solid butter... otherwise I found the batter wasn't moist enough to mix. These smell wonderful in the oven and taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Wonderful! Healthy, too. Used 1/4 cup dates (blenderized) as I wanted some raisins (1/4 cup, whole, tossed with the flour). Used 1/4 tsp salt, oil instead of butter, and 1/2 tsp each of the spices (just right - don't like too spicy). Done at 15 mins, but prefer the 20 mins as they were more chewy and great muffin crust. Also, used a vegetable peeler to get off the orange part of the rind and threw away the bitter pith (the skins were too thick, I guess). The blender worked well in chopping up big pieces of rind. Thank you for the wonderful recipe - it will be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I used between 1/4 cup and 1/2 cup of sugar and cut the ginger and cloves down to 1/2 tsp but wow, these were awesome! Good "helping" recipe for my 2.5 year old too, he loved chucking all the things in the blender. He gave them 2 thumbs up after trying one as well. I'm not a huge date fan so I wasn't sure if I'd like them but the dates get ground up so small that you barely even notice them - delicious! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
These were great. I used only 1/2 cup of the sugar as I prefer my muffins not to taste like cup cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A. Stratton
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I loved this recipe! I'm always on the lookout for healthy, fresh muffin recipes and I was really pleased to find this one with a whole pureed orange in it. I altered the recipe a little to cut down on fat (I doubled the recipe, but used the same amount of butter and added some applesauce to keep it from drying out). I'm sure the original would have been just as scrumptious, but here's what I did for a double recipe: 2 oranges 2 eggs 1/2 cup margarine 1 cup 2% milk 1 cup raisins 3 1/2 cup flour 1 cup sugar 2 tsp baking powder 2 tsp baking soda 1 tsp ginger 1 tsp cloves 3/4 cup applesauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I used sour milk instead of butter milk. The cloves were overpowering in this breakfast muffin, and nobody really liked them EXCEPT for my son, who normally hates breakfast muffins, which is why it got a higher rating than what the adults thought. So apparently, picky children love this muffin. Will make again for my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very tasty! Next time I will decrease the ginger and cloves as one baker recommended. Otherwise, my only comment is that the dough was very thick compared to other muffin recipes, but in the end, they turned out great - even separating from the paper muffin cups once cooled. Also, I replaced the egg with a 'flaxseed egg' (two parts warm water, one part ground flax seeds, blended with the rest of the blended items). Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Really yummy! I added a cup of fresh cranberries and they turned out amazing! The second time I made them I added a tbsp of pumpkin puree along with the cranberries and again they tasted great (although the pumpkin & the orange turned them slightly green!) A really great recipe that I'll be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These were great! I'm going to wait to see how they are tomorrow, but right out of the oven the ginger and cloves were just a tiny bit too much (and I love cloves...). Only changes were to replace 3/4 cup of the flour with whole wheat, and I forgot to blend in the butter so I melted it and whisked it in before adding the dry ingredients. Love the orange and date combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States