Date-Filled Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These were very good cookies. The only thing I did differently was to seal the edges of the sandwiches before they were baked and baked them that way. You had to bake them for 10-13 minutes at 350 that way, but they turned out really good. Would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
These are some nice little cookies. They are not too sweet. The cookie is crisp yet tender. I didn't get enough filling out of the recipe for the whole batch, though. I just brushed the rest with a little water and sprinkled turbinado sugar on. I made the filling and then used my immersion blender to break up the chunks. Mine baked in only 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Adrenalyne
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I made these exactly as the recipe is written and they turned out fantastic! Only thing was I found they didn't take as long in the oven as the recipe suggested. However the first batch I overcooked seemed to soften up a bit after being stored. Keep them in an air tight container to keep them nice and soft. These freeze well too. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Very yummy and popular item. I didn't have time to cool them in the fridge, just dolloped them onto parchment paper, worked great. Mine grew a lot, so be careful of placement! I just paired like-sized cookies to make sandwiches, worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenunn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
These cookies are delicious! My family gobbled them up. I ran out of filling and therefore had extra cookies which were wonderful on their own. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
A fantastic cookie - make them small, though - they're very rich! The sugar cookie will become my standard cut-out cookie - it's got wonderful flavor from the brown sugar and is perfectly soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Delicious cookie. Instead of using cookie cutters I stuffed them by rolling two small circles and then flattening them 1/8"(dough must be kept cold in order to do this, mulitple trips to the refrigerator). I then made a small thumb imprint on the bottom half and placed a small amount of the filling inside and pinched the sides closed. Place back into the refrigerator for 10 minutes (this ensures the filling will not leak out. A bit more work but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This cookie is soft and delicious. Not too sweet. The dough is so easy to work with. My daughters roommate requests these cookies each time we go to visit. Thanks for a wonderfully easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I have a recipe very similar to this that has been a family favorite for years. It was always made by a fellow churchmember around the holidays and shared with after-service coffee. I have since moved away from my small town, but these cookies are always my favorite at Christmas! we make ours as date-filled, with the edges of the cookies pinched togther so that the dates provide more than a filling, rather than as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States