Date Filled Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Great recipe! Look no further for a recipe producing that old-fashioned oatmeal wdates and nuts flavors without the hassle of making individual cookies! The filling is very rich (and there was plenty of it), so I cut the bars thin and had far more than 24. Deducted one star only because I had a hard time putting the top half of the pastry in place. Guess I need practice. Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
The cookies were okay.. but just okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is the best recipe for Date Bars I've ever tried - and I've tasted many. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These cookies are SO good! I wish I could give them 10 stars. And not too hard to make! A spatula works best for spreading the layers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
FINALLY A DATE NUT BAR LIKE THE ONES MY MOTHER USED TO MAKE. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE. I HAVE SEARCHED FOR YEARS TRYING TO FIND THIS TYPE DATE NUT BAR - JUST LIKE THE BAKERY MAKES THEM!!! GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MexicoKaren
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have used this recipe many times, and it is my husband's favorite. Two tips: use less dates, two cups at most, or they are too rich. Also, toast your walnuts before chopping them for the crust. The combo of toasted walnuts, butter, dates - SO good, and very similar to those my mom used to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
These are fantastic! A hit with everyone in my house, even my three-year-old daughter. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I wanted something special to serve at Bunco. The ladies like sweet and gooey, I wanted healthy. Got both in this recipe. I added orange juice instead of water to date mixture. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I remember making ones like this from a box,those were not even close, these are so much better!! Tried choc chips on one side my wife loves me now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
my oven might be off, but they needed another 12-15 minutes of cooking time.... I noticed there is no egg, and that may be why...all in all happy to have another recipe easily converted to a gluten-free dessert...I subbed the flour, combined rice, almond and gluten free flour....I always add a TBL of molasses to remove the aftertaste of the sourghum---it works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States