Date Filled Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MexicoKaren
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have used this recipe many times, and it is my husband's favorite. Two tips: use less dates, two cups at most, or they are too rich. Also, toast your walnuts before chopping them for the crust. The combo of toasted walnuts, butter, dates - SO good, and very similar to those my mom used to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Great recipe! Look no further for a recipe producing that old-fashioned oatmeal wdates and nuts flavors without the hassle of making individual cookies! The filling is very rich (and there was plenty of it), so I cut the bars thin and had far more than 24. Deducted one star only because I had a hard time putting the top half of the pastry in place. Guess I need practice. Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These cookies are SO good! I wish I could give them 10 stars. And not too hard to make! A spatula works best for spreading the layers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This is the best recipe for Date Bars I've ever tried - and I've tasted many. Worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
FINALLY A DATE NUT BAR LIKE THE ONES MY MOTHER USED TO MAKE. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING THIS RECIPE. I HAVE SEARCHED FOR YEARS TRYING TO FIND THIS TYPE DATE NUT BAR - JUST LIKE THE BAKERY MAKES THEM!!! GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
The cookies were okay.. but just okay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I used the recipe for the filling only and made hamantaschen. Excellent! Delicious and the cookies baked up quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
my oven might be off, but they needed another 12-15 minutes of cooking time.... I noticed there is no egg, and that may be why...all in all happy to have another recipe easily converted to a gluten-free dessert...I subbed the flour, combined rice, almond and gluten free flour....I always add a TBL of molasses to remove the aftertaste of the sourghum---it works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I remember making ones like this from a box,those were not even close, these are so much better!! Tried choc chips on one side my wife loves me now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I wanted something special to serve at Bunco. The ladies like sweet and gooey, I wanted healthy. Got both in this recipe. I added orange juice instead of water to date mixture. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States