Date Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I'm glad to see this old recipe. My grandmother, born in 1886, made this cake in a tube pan every Christmas when I was growing up. I have her old recipe, but it is only a list of ingredients without directions. Mine never turn out exactly like hers and now I know it's because I have been mixing it up wrong. Her icing was different, though--she used sweet milk, less flour, and added a cup of dates. I love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This recipe looks really good and easy to make. However, it is important to clarify on the recipe that the ingredients on the left side are for the cake and the ingredients on the right are for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this for my mom's 82nd birthday; it is an old-fashioned recipe and it was just right! The user who mentioned the glaze tasted like flour was correct -- there was more than a faint hint of flour taste to it. Maybe cornstarch or another thickener would do better? The cake is also quite sweet; nice with a strong cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
great! I did add a extra tablespoon of butter but everyone loved it. Very easy to prepair & looked nice with drizzled frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Since I bake alot,I really should have paid more attention to the ingrediants.A tablespoon of butter is not enough oil for this cake.And 4 tablespoons of flour in a icing?And that is what the icing tastes like.Flour.I actually used less that the recipe called for and still,thats the taste.Dry,flour tasting,not good at all.Possible the worst cake I have ever baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
Although the cake is good, I wouldn't give it 5 stars. It didn't "wow me" as I thought it would. My husband really liked it and we both agree that it is the icing that makes it. I feel that it isn't really moist enough right after the baking process. The cake is predominantly a nut cake and not a date cake. The dates only seem to accent it, which isn't unusual as the recipe calls for 2 cups on nuts and only 1 cup of dates. As it stands, I have to say that taste is entirely a personal matter and I can only speak for myself. It tastes fine, but I prefer a meatier tecture when it comes to a date cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2002
this recipe was given to me many, many years ago. i was delighted to see that someone else had it and enjoys it as much as i do. it's really one of the best cakes that i have made. all cake lovers must try it. it deserves 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
I was crushed when I lost my mother's date cake recipe and could not find another we liked as well- Guess what- this one is even better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States