Date Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
Very moist,good flavor. Wonderful topping. Good old fashioned cake like my mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is OUTSTANDING. Fun to make with kids, too! I made the recipe as directed except that I didn't have cream on hand, so our topping was made with milk instead. It was delicious! The topping was starting to burn under my broiler after 1 1/2 minutes so watch it carefully. Did I mention how good this is?? It would be great with some spiced whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Ok, I made quite a few adjustments (sorry!!!), but it was a delicious cake, and I am sure it would be amazing as written as well. I used 2 cups chopped dates and a half cup raisins. I boiled the fruit in 3/4 cup water and 3/4 cup orange juice with some cinnamon. When I added the baking soda it had a mini lava effect like a science fair project (I didn't think about the acid from the orange juice and baking soda, oops), but not enough to be a mess, and it didn't ruin the flavor. I used almond extract instead of vanilla, and I also added nuts to the cake. I messed up the topping the first time I made it (adding the cream to the hot butter wasn't pretty) so I just did a topping of butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Anyway, my whole family loved this recipe. They said they would buy it in a coffee shop. I didn't think it was that pretty, so if I made it for company I would increase the recipe and make it in a bundt pan, or slice it like a loaf cake and serve with sauce and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My original username was LAUREL1 and this is my recipe that I posted in 2001. The orginal recipe comes from the Ukrainian Church Ladies of Holden, Alberta, Canada cookbook of my mother's when I was a little girl. It was and still is my favourite coffee cake. The original recipe calls for 1/2 cup of raisins, not 1-1/2 cups. Thank you, Corinne, for the photo. I'm tickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
its very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Wonderful recipe! Followed it exactly and it came out beautifully moist and rich, but not overpowering (I was afraid it would be too sweet!). Was a big hit with the family and a HUGE hit with the colleagues :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Great recipie. Very easy and effective. Am fussy baker and this is very pleasant surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This cake is so easy to make and tastes great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I added burbon to the cake and about 1/2 cup of oatmeal. Then I added burbon to the topping. I liked the cake but it was even better with the burbon. Oh, I used 3/4 cup of raisins - golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Leithiser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Corinne B.
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was a splendid cake. My picture (1 of 1) proves that we couldn't wait for a photo op to eat it. I made it exactly as the recipe stated and would make no changes. It was moist and delicious. I will be taking the recipe to Australia to make it for my Mum-in Law. Many thanks for posting it Laurel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Goodwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States