Date Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This recipe, especially the crust, is wonderful. For those in a hurry, you can also use Solo Brand date filling. I did and I got great reviews from my family. Though date filling from scratch is preferred, Solo is a quality pastry filling and it worked very well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These were tasty, but not the flavor I was looking for. The allspice and orange zest flavors came through too powerfully for what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
REALLY GOOD! I dislike cloves and allspice - so took those out and added more cinnamon. Crust/topping are wonderful and go perfect with the date filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Since my husband is allergic to cloves and allspice I replaced those spices with extra cinnamon. I also used orange extract instead of the orange zest. The bars turned out great and I could have eaten 1/2 of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very flavourful. However the oat mixture was quite dry. I would personally add some chopped walnuts just to take away the excessive pastiness of the dates. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is just like my mother made when I was a kid. It is very moist and the flavors are wonderful. My family thinks this is a keeper recipe. Thanks for bringing back a piece of my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I first made these as a new bride from a Betty Crocker cookbook in 1970. I love this recipe just as much, especially with the orange zest and spices. The only thing I changed was eliminating the sugar in the date mixture, as I felt it was sweet enough, and I substituted coconut oil for butter (if you're not familiar with its health benefits, google it, or Dr Mary Enig). The coconut oil stays solid at room temp so it is no different to cut in than butter. I also added about 1/2 cup walnuts to the date mixture. I used an 8x12 pan, which seemed to be the perfect size to keep the proportion of date and oat right. Yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
These are excellent bars. I used an 8X8 pan instead of the 9X9 and added about 5 minutes to the bake time. The finished bars are some of the best I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Excellent! Made exactly as written. Next time I may add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts in date mixture after cooking it. Loved the spice in the mix. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States