Date Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These are excellent! Just like my grandmother used to make. I didn't change a thing and will use this recipe as my only date bar recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
It was all pretty good, but I did have to add extra butter to make it stick together better. Also the portions are off, next time I would at least double the date filling part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
To me, this recipe is way to sweet with all the brown sugar. The crust portion was good. I couldn't get all this into a 9" square pan. I used a 9 x 13" pan and it was plenty full even with the mess made transferring it, the bars over an inch high. There are better recipes for these bars and I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Ferguson Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe seems to have a lot of issues going on as I noticed by the reviews. But I just halved the recipe to use up some dates and it went fairly well. Next time I would use more dates in order to make more filling, and probably would of followed more of the review suggestions in order to made the topping/crust more cohesive. All-in-all it was yummy, though crumbly as other people have noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very good flavor, although, next time I will cut the topping in half, there was just too much in comparison to the date filling, I don't think there is enough date filling to stretch this to a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Imade it in a 9x13 pan and it was delicious. It only gets 4 because half of the topping didn't stick and ended up as an oatmeal mess in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I've made these twice, with the recommendations posted by Shooga. The second time I didn't have orange juice, and I have to say I like the filling much better with the oj/lemon juice added--it has more flavor. I used quick oats with good effect. And if you forget to press the top crumb layer into the filling, you can do it halfway through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Really good flavor. But should have read the reviews first. I followed the directions and ended up not with date bars but with date crumble. Really floury and crumbly and still not totally done even though I baked it 33 minutes instead of the recommended 20-25. And WAAAAY too much recipe for a 9x9!! But mine will still be really good served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
My husband is from Canada where date bars are a staple, and he loved this. I cut the flour to 1 1/2 cups, used butter vs. shortening, and used a 9x13 pan. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
the recipe should call out for quick cooked oats not rolled oats. To much flour, and to much oats, made to much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States