Date Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These are excellent! Just like my grandmother used to make. I didn't change a thing and will use this recipe as my only date bar recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
It was all pretty good, but I did have to add extra butter to make it stick together better. Also the portions are off, next time I would at least double the date filling part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
To me, this recipe is way to sweet with all the brown sugar. The crust portion was good. I couldn't get all this into a 9" square pan. I used a 9 x 13" pan and it was plenty full even with the mess made transferring it, the bars over an inch high. There are better recipes for these bars and I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Ferguson Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe seems to have a lot of issues going on as I noticed by the reviews. But I just halved the recipe to use up some dates and it went fairly well. Next time I would use more dates in order to make more filling, and probably would of followed more of the review suggestions in order to made the topping/crust more cohesive. All-in-all it was yummy, though crumbly as other people have noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very good flavor, although, next time I will cut the topping in half, there was just too much in comparison to the date filling, I don't think there is enough date filling to stretch this to a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Imade it in a 9x13 pan and it was delicious. It only gets 4 because half of the topping didn't stick and ended up as an oatmeal mess in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I've made these twice, with the recommendations posted by Shooga. The second time I didn't have orange juice, and I have to say I like the filling much better with the oj/lemon juice added--it has more flavor. I used quick oats with good effect. And if you forget to press the top crumb layer into the filling, you can do it halfway through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Really good flavor. But should have read the reviews first. I followed the directions and ended up not with date bars but with date crumble. Really floury and crumbly and still not totally done even though I baked it 33 minutes instead of the recommended 20-25. And WAAAAY too much recipe for a 9x9!! But mine will still be really good served with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
My husband is from Canada where date bars are a staple, and he loved this. I cut the flour to 1 1/2 cups, used butter vs. shortening, and used a 9x13 pan. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
the recipe should call out for quick cooked oats not rolled oats. To much flour, and to much oats, made to much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States