Date and Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
I make this bread at least once a week, it's a good source of fibre so you can pretend it's healthy if you leave out the nuts. It's highly sweet, so watch out if you haven't got a sweet tooth. The recipe is easily adapted to incorporate other dried fruit such as pears or figs. If you want to be able to find any chunks of date in the bread I'd recommend ignoring the beeps and adding the fruit only about two minutes before the end of the kneeding, otherwise the blade tends to just smooth them into the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This bread rose very well, considering that it's got wheat flour and oatmeal. I really like the sort of fluffy texture of the crumb too. It's also got just a hint of sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! I don't change a thing. I buy a big box of dates and bake several loaves at once to slice up and freeze. It's great toasted with a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Amazing. I added a full cup of chopped up dates right at the beginning so the kidlets wouldn't see "things" in their bread. Turned out amazing tasted great lightly toasted with peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Wow!!! This bread is so good! I omitted the almonds. Next time I will add the dates later on because I like to taste the big pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I do not have a bread machine but it still turned out perfectly. It's a very moist, tasty bread. All it requires to omit the machine is putting the dry ingredients together, including the dates (I used dried and pitted rather than fresh), and then adding the water/oil/honey/yeast mixture (after the yeast has been activated) to it. I kneaded it for about 10 minutes and then let it rise twice for about an hour each time in our microwave with a cup of boiling water beside it to help it rise. Baked it at 350 for ~35 minutes or so. Great bread! I'll make another batch soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This bread is delicious! I addede dates in the beginning, so there were only few visible specks of them in the baked loaf. Almonds add a nice crunch. I will be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very good. Loved this bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodnews4u

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Very good flavor and just the right amount of sweetness. I'll make this bread again, but next time I'll add just a little more salt. I made this in a bread maker on the dough setting adding the dates & almonds after about 27 minutes, but I rolled the dough out and placed it in a loaf pan for the second rise. It only took 23-25 minutes to bake to a golden brown at 350°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very dense, & heavy. Grandson took some in school lunch with pb&j and seemed to get some attention from some of the adults there. Found it a little hard to slice. Used coffee and added fruit and nuts at the start of cycle. Increased recipe to 16 servings because my machine can handle it. Didn't have rolled oats. Substituted the quick oats and I think this may account for the texture. Will make again. Seems like a very healthy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States