Date and Nut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
Finally a date bar that is moist and holds together. I shared these bars with my neighbor and she loved them as much as my husband did! I did increase the cinnamon to 1/4 teaspoon. I didn't use the confectioners' sugar, once we tried them without we decided they were perfect the way they were. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Delicious! I made a few changes just for personal preference, I reduced the dates to 1 1/4 cups, added 1/4 cup of golden raisins, and increased the walnuts to one full cup. I also used 2/3 cup of brown sugar and 1/3 cup of white sugar and added 1 tsp of vanilla. Also increased the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp and left off the powdered sugar as others suggested. Although I'm sure this would be awesome as it's originally written. I will be adding this to my recipe books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
this is a delicious recipe. the only thing i added is a teaspoon of vanilla. once cooled in the fridge overnight, it was firmer and chewier to the bite. i love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
Really tasty, definitely improve with age. Bake them and hide them for a couple of days. I used Brazil nutes instead of walnuts but only because that was all I had. Still turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written. I thought it had the perfect amount of spices making it full flavored and very satisfying for my sweet tooth! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Very moist and easy to cut. I didn't have quite enough dates so I added raisins. Cooked right on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe said and it turned out great. Everyone who tried it loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moondollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Delicious! I was a little short on dates and added raisins. Would like to see how they improve with age but they did not make it through the evening. WIll definitely made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States