Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This recipe is now an addiction in our house! I do use 50% ground beef, 50% ground pork though. Just a bit juicier that way! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
There is something amazingly cathartic about slamming a hunk of ground beef repeatedly upon your counter top. I also mixed it initially with my hand mixer, as I don't have a food processor. The texture was pretty much perfect given the combination of the two. I haven't had a donair in years, since I was last visiting Halifax. I saw this recipe in someone's recipe box, and my mouth started to water as my head filled with memories of the meal. Goodness, this is delicious. Spot on. Exactly what I was craving. I could hardly muster the resolve to let the meat cool for slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I just moved to Prince Albert from Alberta and I LOVE donairs and here honestly you ask most people where to get one and they dont even know what the word means!!!! So desperat for a donair(my husband loves them too) I tried this recipe and it is just like going home!!!!! AMAZING!!!! I was skeptical at first but as it cooks it smells just like the ones back home!!! So YUMMY!!! I aslo made my own pitas i found a great recipe on a website called amideastfeast.com they were perfect. Anyone who is second guessing to try this one...TRY IT!! super easy and you'd swear your at a donair shop. Like one of the other reviewers i wrapped mine in paper(i used baking paper) so its easy to eat and less messy. Enjoy...i know we did. Oh and the sauce is amazing to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was a very tasty recipe. All the family loved it, even my picky eaters! This will be a family favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! All of the donair-loving men in my life go nuts for these. :) I've even tried making them with ground turkey (a bit healthier) and as long as it's got a little extra cayenne in there, no one's the wiser. Awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMarieBee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
A Halifax classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbignell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
oh ya :) thank you thank you thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I use this recipe for the sauce and it is great I find, however, that it gets very thin and runny after the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Whenever I miss home, I pull out this recipe. My american husband has fallen in love with these too. Amazing recipe. Thanks so much. LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
If you want to have thick sauce, here is how to do it: Combine the evaporated milk, garlic and sugar, mix until the sugar has dissolved. Then drizzle the vinegar over the top, (I use about 2 tablespoons, maybe more, I do not measure it). Let the sauce stand without stirring it for at least 5 min. Stir it with a fork, see how thick it is and how it tastes, if you need to drizzle more vinegar over the top. Do Not Taste the sauce with the fork or spoon you used before, the enzymes in the saliva will cause the sauce to go runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States