Dash's Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is really good! I have never had a donair but seen it on the reviews page and decided to try it. It tastes very similar to a gyro and made this way has a kind of similar texture to. The best part is I know what kind of meat went into making it. I used 93% lean beef and it worked fine. I lined a square pan with foil and sprayed it with pan spray. I didn't know what to think about the slamming it 20 times, but I did that in the large plastic bowl I had mixed it into, but it really does compact the meat making it slice up in nice thin slices. Do not skip that step! I served it on thin Lebanese pita bread with sliced tomatoes and onions. I tried the sauce but did not like it at all. It was so sweet and I don't care for canned milk taste anyway. It is a waste of canned milk as it makes way too much anyhow. After finding I did not like it I just made a white sauce with about 1/2 cup lite sour cream, a minced garlic clove, and a spoon of milk to thin it. I will definitely be making this recipe again, but doubling it next time. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I would like to say that this is a great recipe. It is very similar to the traditional donair that you would eat in Turkey. Yes, Donair is from Turkey and was introduced to Nova Scotia by Turkish-Immigrants in the 1970s. Over all, I would say that it's worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This recipe is now an addiction in our house! I do use 50% ground beef, 50% ground pork though. Just a bit juicier that way! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
There is something amazingly cathartic about slamming a hunk of ground beef repeatedly upon your counter top. I also mixed it initially with my hand mixer, as I don't have a food processor. The texture was pretty much perfect given the combination of the two. I haven't had a donair in years, since I was last visiting Halifax. I saw this recipe in someone's recipe box, and my mouth started to water as my head filled with memories of the meal. Goodness, this is delicious. Spot on. Exactly what I was craving. I could hardly muster the resolve to let the meat cool for slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I just moved to Prince Albert from Alberta and I LOVE donairs and here honestly you ask most people where to get one and they dont even know what the word means!!!! So desperat for a donair(my husband loves them too) I tried this recipe and it is just like going home!!!!! AMAZING!!!! I was skeptical at first but as it cooks it smells just like the ones back home!!! So YUMMY!!! I aslo made my own pitas i found a great recipe on a website called amideastfeast.com they were perfect. Anyone who is second guessing to try this one...TRY IT!! super easy and you'd swear your at a donair shop. Like one of the other reviewers i wrapped mine in paper(i used baking paper) so its easy to eat and less messy. Enjoy...i know we did. Oh and the sauce is amazing to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was a very tasty recipe. All the family loved it, even my picky eaters! This will be a family favorite from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! All of the donair-loving men in my life go nuts for these. :) I've even tried making them with ground turkey (a bit healthier) and as long as it's got a little extra cayenne in there, no one's the wiser. Awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMarieBee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
A Halifax classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbignell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
oh ya :) thank you thank you thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I use this recipe for the sauce and it is great I find, however, that it gets very thin and runny after the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States